France Gall, spokespersons

Home"Anciens1"France Gall, spokespersons
3 Partages

DISAPPEARANCE - pacifiers at Babacar Passing by disconnects, his tubes signed Gainsbourg or Berger accompanied our lives.

"France Gall joined the white paradise on January 7th, after having challenged for two years, with discretion and dignity, the recurrence of her cancer. "It is with these words, transmitted to our colleagues of the AFP by its communication officer Geneviève Salama, that we learned the disappearance of the singer, Sunday in the morning. France Gall had been admitted to the American Hospital of Neuilly before the Christmas holidays for a severe infection. His absence at the funeral of his friend Johnny Hallyday, whom she had appeared on stage for the last time in 2000, had aroused concern. After being one of the most popular French singers of her time, France Gall spent the last twenty years of her life in the utmost discretion. Having lived by and for music, this woman will refuse to appear in the cinema or write her autobiography. "That there is something left of me is indifferent to me," she said modestly.

However, his hits have accompanied the life of the French for at least two sequences: the mid-1960s, then the whole of the 1980s. A simple performer, she will have put herself at the service of others, writers and composers. The most outstanding will remain Serge Gainsbourg and, especially, Michel Berger, with whom she will build not only a repertoire, but also a family.

Unlike the singers of the yé-yé wave, France Gall will always defend an original repertoire, and not adaptations of success Anglo-Saxon

Born Isabelle Gall in the XIIth district of Paris on October 9, 1947, she had spent her childhood in a home very marked by the song. His father, Robert, singer himself, had signed texts for success for Edith Piaf (The wonderful lovers) or Charles Aznavour (The Mamma). His mother, Cécile Berthier, was the daughter of the co-founder of Little singers at the wooden cross. Piano at age 5, guitar at 11, she has always been encouraged by her father to practice music. This one makes him dry school the day after first of Piaf, Aznavour or Bécaud. At home, she frequents cross artists in the backstage of the Olympia: Hugues Aufray, Marie Laforêt or Claude Nougaro. From adolescence, with her two little brothers (twins Patrice and Philippe), she formed a first orchestra. His stubbornness earned him the nickname "Little Corporal".

It was the year of her 16th birthday, in 1963, that she was signed at Philips, after an audition at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées organized by Denis Bourgeois, a friend of the family. Barely under contract, it is suggested that he change his name so as not to compete with another young singer, Isabelle Aubret. His first songs are recorded with Alain Goraguer, composer and arranger close to Vian and Gainsbourg. It's the same day of her 16 years as the song Do not be so stupid is broadcast for the first time on the radio. Her artistic director introduces her to one of her foals: Serge Gainsbourg. Singer with chronic failure despite an indisputable talent, the latter wrote him his first hits: Do not listen to idols and Drop the girlsin 1964. But it is the following year that she triumphs with Doll of wax, doll of her, which is worth the grand prize of Eurovision.

Unlike the singers of the yé-yé wave, France Gall will always defend an original repertoire, not adaptations of Anglo-Saxon success. Gainsbourg has fun making this woman child a more sexual image of Lolita, to excess: The lollipopsin 1966, a text which she will confess years later have not grasped the double meaning for a long time! In the city, she is the fiancée of Claude François. Their stormy relationship lasts - with interruptions - from 1964 to 1967. By way of a break, he writes As usual, future international standard.

His stubbornness earned him the nickname "Little Corporal"

After the Philips and Gainsbourg years, France Gall begins a desert crossing that will last until the mid-1970s. Jacques Lanzmann or Étienne Roda-Gil are summoned to write songs that remain confidential. In 1972, Gainsbourg is recalled, but the two singles that he offers him, Frankenstein and Small Balloons, shine neither for their quality nor for their audience.

It is by hearing the song Wait for me on the radio, one day in 1973, she fell in love with Michel Berger. With The Declaration of Lovehe relaunched his career in style the following year. With this gifted songwriter, who has just launched the career of his great love, Véronique Sanson, she is returning to the forefront. France Gall becomes one of the biggest stars of the French scene, with hits of hit singles and shows.

His first album is released the year of his marriage with his new Pygmalion, and his return on stage (at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées) precedes by a few months the birth of their first child, Pauline Isabelle, in 1978. In 1979, she participates at the first draft of the triumphal musical Starmania, written by Luc Plamondon and composed by Michel Berger, who stays a month in the poster of the Palais des congrès.

Palais des sports, Zenith, Bercy: it fills the largest Parisian venues with ambitious and modern shows

The 1980s saw her devote herself to humanitarian projects, including Action Écoles, with Daniel Balavoine, while recording albums as popular as Paris, France or disconnects. Palais des sports, Zenith, Bercy: it fills the largest Parisian halls with ambitious and modern shows. Raphaël Michel, born in 1981, enlarges the Berger clan, which appears as one of the most close families of show business. This happiness will burst with the accidental death of Michel Berger, who succumbs to a heart attack in the summer of 1992. Together, Berger and Gall had just recorded their first album in two voices, Double-dealing, which should have been followed by a show in common.

In April 1993, the singer successfully operated a breast cancer before going on stage at Bercy to defend the repertoire of the man of her life, which she will never fail to pay tribute. This is still the case at Pleyel in 1994 and at Olympia in 1996. That same year, she recorded, with American musicians - including accompanists of Prince - an album of songs by her mentor, on very soulful arrangements. and funk.

The untimely death of their daughter Pauline, who succumbs to cystic fibrosis at the age of 19, makes her abandon her singing profession definitively. She made her living again with the American musician Bruck Dawit, sound engineer, composer, arranger and producer, spending six months a year in Senegal, where she had a house built. With him, she will write the show resists, successful evocation of the repertory she had formed with Michel Berger. At the premiere of Paris, November 4, 2015, she appears on stage during remindersmoved and proud of the success of this tribute to the man to whom she owed so much.


Source: ©  France Gall, spokespersons

3 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

France Gall, porte-paroles

Home»Anciens1»France Gall, porte-paroles

France Gall, porte-paroles

DISPARITION – Des Sucettes à Babacar en passant par Débranche, ses tubes signés Gainsbourg ou Berger ont accompagné nos vies.

«France Gall a rejoint le paradis blanc le 7 janvier, après avoir défié depuis deux ans, avec discrétion et dignité, la récidive de son cancer.» C’est par ces mots, transmis à nos confrères de l’AFP par sa chargée de communication Geneviève Salama, que l’on a appris la disparition de la chanteuse, dimanche dans la matinée. France Gall avait été admise à l’hôpital américain de Neuilly avant les fêtes de Noël pour une infection sévère. Son absence lors des obsèques de son ami Johnny Hallyday, au côté duquel elle était apparue une dernière fois sur scène en 2000, avait suscité l’inquiétude. Après avoir été une des chanteuses françaises les plus populaires de son époque, France Gall aura passé les vingt dernières années de sa vie dans la plus grande discrétion. Ayant vécu par et pour la musique, cette femme refusera d’apparaître au cinéma ou d’écrire son autobiographie. «Qu’il reste quelque chose de moi m’indiffère», déclarait-elle avec modestie.

Pourtant, ses tubes ont accompagné la vie des Français pendant au moins deux séquences: le milieu des années 1960, puis l’ensemble des années 1980. Simple interprète, elle se sera mise au service d’autres, auteurs et compositeurs. Les plus marquants resteront Serge Gainsbourg et, surtout, Michel Berger, auprès duquel elle construira non seulement un répertoire, mais aussi une famille.

Contrairement aux chanteurs de la vague yé-yé, France Gall défendra toujours un répertoire original, et non des adaptations de succès anglo-saxons

Née Isabelle Gall dans le XIIe arrondissement de Paris le 9 octobre 1947, elle avait passé son enfance dans un foyer très marqué par la chanson. Son père, Robert, chanteur lui-même, avait signé des textes à succès pour Edith Piaf (Les Amants merveilleux) ou Charles Aznavour (La Mamma). Sa mère, Cécile Berthier, était quant à elle la fille du cofondateur des Petits Chanteurs à la croix de bois. Piano à 5 ans, guitare à 11, elle aura toujours été encouragée par son père à pratiquer la musique. Celui-ci lui fait sécher l’école les lendemains de première de Piaf, Aznavour ou Bécaud. À la maison, elle fréquente les artistes croisés dans les coulisses de l’Olympia: Hugues Aufray, Marie Laforêt ou Claude Nougaro. Dès l’adolescence, avec ses deux petits frères (les jumeaux Patrice et Philippe), elle forme un premier orchestre. Son caractère buté lui vaut le surnom de «Petit Caporal».

C’est l’année de ses 16 ans, en 1963, qu’elle est signée chez Philips, après une audition au Théâtre des Champs-Élysées organisée par Denis Bourgeois, un ami de la famille. À peine sous contrat, on lui suggère de changer de prénom pour ne pas subir la concurrence d’une autre jeune chanteuse, Isabelle Aubret. Ses premières chansons sont enregistrées avec Alain Goraguer, compositeur et arrangeur proche de Vian et Gainsbourg. C’est le jour même de ses 16 ans que la chanson Ne sois pas si bête est diffusée pour la première fois à la radio. Son directeur artistique la présente à un de ses poulains: Serge Gainsbourg. Chanteur à l’insuccès chronique malgré un talent indiscutable, ce dernier lui écrit ses premiers tubes: N’écoute pas les idoles et Laisse tomber les filles, en 1964. Mais c’est l’année suivante qu’elle triomphe avec Poupée de cire, poupée de son, qui lui vaut le grand prix de l’Eurovision.

Contrairement aux chanteurs de la vague yé-yé, France Gall défendra toujours un répertoire original, et non des adaptations de succès anglo-saxons. Gainsbourg s’amuse à confectionner à cette femme enfant une image de Lolita plus sexuée, jusqu’à l’excès: Les Sucettes, en 1966, un texte dont elle avouera des années plus tard n’avoir pas saisi le double sens pendant longtemps! À la ville, elle est la fiancée de Claude François. Leur relation orageuse dure – avec des interruptions – de 1964 à 1967. En guise de rupture, il écrit Comme d’habitude, futur standard international.

Son caractère buté lui vaut le surnom de «Petit Caporal»

Après les années Philips et Gainsbourg, France Gall entame une traversée du désert qui durera jusqu’au milieu des années 1970. Des auteurs de la trempe de Jacques Lanzmann ou Étienne Roda-Gil sont convoqués pour lui écrire des chansons qui demeurent confidentielles. En 1972, Gainsbourg est rappelé, mais les deux singles qu’il lui offre, Frankenstein et Les Petits Ballons, ne brillent ni pour leur qualité ni pour leur audience.

C’est en entendant la chanson Attends-moi à la radio, un jour de 1973, qu’elle a le coup de foudre pour Michel Berger. Avec La Déclaration d’amour, celui-ci relance sa carrière en beauté l’année suivante. Avec cet auteur-compositeur surdoué, qui vient de lancer la carrière de son grand amour, Véronique Sanson, elle opère un retour au premier plan. France Gall devient une des plus grandes stars de la scène française, à grands coups de singles à succès et de spectacles marquants.

Son premier album sort l’année de son mariage avec son nouveau Pygmalion, et son retour sur scène (au Théâtre des Champs-Élysées) précède de quelques mois la naissance de leur premier enfant, Pauline Isabelle, en 1978. En 1979, elle participe à la première mouture de la triomphale comédie musicale Starmania, écrite par Luc Plamondon et composée par Michel Berger, qui reste un mois à l’affiche du Palais des congrès.

Palais des sports, Zénith, Bercy : elle remplit les plus grandes salles parisiennes avec des shows ambitieux et modernes

Les années 1980 la voient se consacrer à des projets humanitaires, notamment Action Écoles, auprès de Daniel Balavoine, tout en enregistrant des albums aussi populaires que Paris, France ou Débranche. Palais des sports, Zénith, Bercy: elle remplit les plus grandes salles parisiennes avec des shows ambitieux et modernes. Raphaël Michel, né en 1981, agrandit le clan Berger, qui apparaît comme une des familles les plus soudées du show-business. Ce bonheur volera en éclat avec la mort accidentelle de Michel Berger, qui succombe à une crise cardiaque au cours de l’été 1992. Ensemble, Berger et Gall venaient d’enregistrer leur premier album à deux voix, Double Jeu, qui aurait dû être suivi d’un spectacle en commun.

En avril 1993, la chanteuse est opérée avec succès d’un cancer du sein avant de monter sur la scène de Bercy afin de défendre le répertoire de l’homme de sa vie, auquel elle ne manquera jamais de rendre hommage. C’est encore le cas à Pleyel en 1994 et à l’Olympia en 1996. Cette même année, elle enregistre, avec des musiciens américains – notamment des accompagnateurs de Prince -, un album de chansons de son mentor, sur des arrangements très soul et funk.

La mort prématurée de leur fille Pauline, qui succombe à une mucoviscidose à l’âge de 19 ans, lui fait abandonner son métier de chanteuse définitivement. Elle refait sa vie avec le musicien américain Bruck Dawit, ingénieur du son, compositeur, arrangeur et producteur, passe six mois par an au Sénégal, où elle s’est fait construire une maison. Avec lui, elle écrira le spectacle Résiste, évocation réussie du répertoire qu’elle avait constitué avec Michel Berger. À la première parisienne, le 4 novembre 2015, elle apparaît sur scène lors des rappels, émue et fière du succès recueilli par cet hommage à l’homme auquel elle devait tant.


Source:©  France Gall, porte-paroles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais