Favoritism at INA: Mathieu Gallet sentenced to one year suspended sentence

Home"TO THE ONE"Favoritism at INA: Mathieu Gallet sentenced to one year suspended sentence
3 Partages
Favoritisme à l'INA : Mathieu Gallet condamné à un an de prison avec sursis
Mathieu Gallet arrives in mid-November in the court of Créteil to respond to accusations of favoritism at the INA. - Photo credits: THOMAS SAMSON / AFP

The Creteil Criminal Court sentenced Mathieu Gallet, the current president of Radio France, for having signed contracts that would have favored two consulting companies between 2012 and 2014 while he was at the head of the INA. He said he would appeal.

The verdict fell for Mathieu Gallet. The current head of Radio France was sentenced Monday by the court of Créteil to one year of suspended sentence and 20,000 euros fine for offense of favoritism, while he chaired the INA. He is accused of having signed, between 2012 and 2014, contracts that cost more than 400,000 euros to the public institution without prior call for competition. The prosecution had required a year and a half of suspended sentence and 40,000 euros fine. Mathieu Gallet's lawyers announced that he was appealing his conviction. "Given the conditions under which the investigation and the hearing took place, the court's decision is not a surprise. We immediately appeal for the Court to examine this case with serenity and respect for the rights of the defense, "they explained at the exit of the court.

Amélie Cladière, prosecutor in this case, suspected fraudulent use of public money for personal purposes. In the viewfinder of the magistrate, a first contract with Denis Pingaud, an audiovisual professional paid as an external consultant by the INA. Remunerated 5000 euros per month, he received 130,000 euros excluding taxes, billed by a company he ran. This total amount should have forced the establishment to put the bid in competition, to respect the regulation of the public markets. For Ms. Cladière, Mathieu Gallet has paid a "personal coach" to conquer the position of boss of Radio France. An attack that Mathieu Gallet considers "at least insulting, at worst libelous".

The other contentious contract was concluded in 2013 between consulting firm Roland Berger Strategy and INA for a total of 289,000 euros excluding taxes. It had indeed been awarded after a call for tenders, but a call for tenders deemed "too short" by the prosecutor, and distorted by Mathieu Gallet who would have communicated information about the project to Roland Berger as early as 2010.

A highly political legal case

The lawyers for Mathieu Gallet denounced the "partiality" of the public prosecutor in this case. According to information confirmed by the defense lawyers, the CEO of Radio France even filed a complaint against the prosecutor of Créteil for violation of the secrecy of the investigation. According to the former president of the INA, the investigation for favoritism was not officially closed when, on June 23, the prosecutor's office summoned press agencies to announce the return of Mathieu Gallet in correctional matters. The complainant asserts that at that time he had not been made aware of this decision. The complaint was first filed by the Paris prosecutor. But the lawyers of Mathieu Gallet have seized the general prosecutor of the Court of Appeal of Paris.

The defense also denounces a case that is the result of a political instrumentalization of the prosecution. Supporters of Mathieu Gallet point out, for example, the fact that the date of the correctional referral of the case follows barely a week the controversy that had opposed Radio France François Bayrou, then Minister of Justice, around the revelation of the case of fictitious jobs of MoDem.

READ ALSO - » Mathieu Gallet in court for the offense of "favoritism"

The boss of Radio France does not intend to resign. The senior official assured that even if sentenced, he would complete his mandate at the head of the house round, scheduled to last until May 2019. Indeed, for Mathieu Gallet, the fault is to be put on the account of his ignorance of public procurement procedures. According to him, the rules were "totally unknown to him" when he arrived at the head of the public establishment. So for him it is "teams in place" at INA who are at fault. The latter did not send him "warning signals" about the need for a call for tenders.


 

Source: Favoritism at INA: Mathieu Gallet sentenced to one year suspended sentence

3 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

Favoritisme à l'INA : Mathieu Gallet condamné à un an de prison avec sursis

Home»A LA UNE»Favoritisme à l’INA : Mathieu Gallet condamné à un an de prison avec sursis
Favoritisme à l'INA : Mathieu Gallet condamné à un an de prison avec sursis
Mathieu Gallet se présente mi-novembre au tribunal de Créteil pour répondre aux accusations de favoritisme à l’INA. – Crédits photo : THOMAS SAMSON/AFP

Le tribunal correctionnel de Créteil a condamné Mathieu Gallet, l’actuel président de Radio France, pour avoir signé des contrats qui auraient favorisé deux sociétés de conseil entre 2012 et 2014 alors qu’il était à la tête de l’INA. Il a fait savoir qu’il interjetterait appel.

Le verdict est tombé pour Mathieu Gallet. L’actuel patron de Radio France a été condamné lundi par le tribunal de Créteil à un an de prison avec sursis et 20.000 euros d’amende pour délit de favoritisme, alors qu’il présidait l’INA. Il lui est reproché d’avoir signé, entre 2012 et 2014, des contrats qui ont coûté plus de 400.000 euros à l’établissement public sans mise en concurrence préalable. Le parquet avait requis un an et demi de prison avec sursis et 40.000 euros d’amende. Les avocats de Mathieu Gallet ont annoncé qu’il faisait appel de sa condamnation. «Compte tenu des conditions dans lesquelles l’enquête et l’audience se sont déroulées, la décision du tribunal n’est pas une surprise. Nous faisons immédiatement appel pour que la Cour examine ce dossier avec sérénité et dans le respect des droits de la défense», ont-ils expliqué à la sortie du tribunal.

Amélie Cladière, procureur dans cette affaire, a soupçonné un usage frauduleux de l’argent public à des fins personnelles. Dans le viseur de la magistrate, un premier contrat passé avec Denis Pingaud, un professionnel de l’audiovisuel payé comme conseiller externe par l’INA. Rémunéré 5000 euros par mois, il a perçu 130.000 euros hors taxes, facturés par une société qu’il dirigeait. Ce montant total aurait dû forcer l’établissement à mettre l’offre en concurrence, pour respecter la réglementation des marchés publics. Pour Mme Cladière, Mathieu Gallet s’est payé un «coach personnel» pour conquérir le poste de patron de Radio France. Une attaque que Mathieu Gallet juge «au minimum insultante, au pire diffamatoire».

L’autre contrat litigieux a été passé en 2013 entre la société de conseil Roland Berger Strategy et l’INA pour un total de 289.000 euros hors taxes. Celui-ci avait bel et bien été attribué au terme d’un appel d’offres, mais un appel d’offres jugé «trop court» par le procureur, et faussé par Mathieu Gallet qui aurait communiqué des informations sur le projet à Roland Berger dès 2010.

Une affaire juridique hautement politique

Les avocats de Mathieu Gallet ont dénoncé la «partialité» du ministère public dans cette affaire. Selon une information confirmée par les avocats de la défense, le PDG de Radio France a même déposé une plainte contre le parquet de Créteil pour violation du secret de l’enquête. Selon l’ex-président de l’INA, l’enquête pour favoritisme n’était pas officiellement close quand, le 23 juin dernier, le parquet a convoqué des agences de presse afin d’annoncer le renvoi en correctionnelle de Mathieu Gallet. L’intéressé affirme qu’à ce moment-là, il n’avait pas été mis au courant de cette décision. La plainte a d’abord été classée par le parquet de Paris. Mais les avocats de Mathieu Gallet ont saisi le procureur général de la cour d’appel de Paris.

La défense dénonce par ailleurs une affaire qui est le fruit d’une instrumentalisation politique du parquet. Les soutiens de Mathieu Gallet soulignent, par exemple, le fait que la date de renvoi en correctionnelle de l’affaire suit d’une semaine à peine la polémique qui avait opposé Radio France à François Bayrou, alors ministre de la Justice, autour de la révélation de l’affaire des emplois fictifs du MoDem.

LIRE AUSSI -» Mathieu Gallet devant le tribunal pour délit de «favoritisme»

Le patron de Radio France ne compte pas démissionner. Le haut fonctionnaire a assuré que, même en cas de condamnation, il achèverait son mandat à la tête de la maison ronde, prévu pour durer jusqu’en mai 2019. En effet, pour Mathieu Gallet, la faute est à mettre sur le compte de son ignorance des procédures de marchés publics. Selon lui, les règles lui étaient «totalement inconnues» lors de son arrivée à la tête de l’établissement public. Ainsi pour lui ce sont «les équipes en place» à l’INA qui sont fautives. Ces dernières ne lui auraient pas transmis les «signaux d’alerte» sur la nécessité d’un appel d’offres.


 

Source: Favoritisme à l’INA : Mathieu Gallet condamné à un an de prison avec sursis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais