How to explain the fall of Macron in the popular electorate

Home"TO THE ONE"How to explain the fall of Macron in the popular electorate
6 Partages
Emmanuel Macron, le 3 octobre, lors de sa visite de l'usine Whirlpool à Amiens.

POLITICAL STUDY - Orders on the work package of cigarettes to 10 euros, the causes are many of a stall of popular categories in relation to the head of state.

In the Ifop-JDD barometer, the fall in popularity of Emmanuel Macron was much more pronounced among employees (-26 points between May and September) and workers (-24) than in the other categories (-12 among executives and higher intellectual professions). This more pronounced fall occurred on previously less favorable terrain. It is indeed among the popular categories that he had achieved his worst scores in the first round of the presidential election. And it is also in these social circles that its progression between the first and second round was the least strong: + 35 points for employees and + 25 points for blue-collar workers, against + 44 points for CSP +. Two-thirds of the people of France today say they are dissatisfied with the head of state. How to explain this growing gap?

● A reform of the labor code anxiety

The reform of the Labor Code appears as the main spring of this popular discontent. The workers and employees are thus the most hostile to it. In the middle of the summer, and while the government had not yet specified its intentions, only 22% of them declared themselves in favor of the reform of the Labor Code, against 40% of the CSP + (Ifop). According to a survey conducted by the Elabe Institute on 29 August, the popular categories were also the least likely to want a "deep" reform of the Labor Code (26%, against 40% of the CSP +). The verbatim reports collected in the framework of the Ifop / JDD barometer show that the fear of dismissal is strong among employees and workers, who see the Labor Code as an element of protection.

Some of the popular categories who had supported Emmanuel Macron around the themes of renewal and an optimistic and positive vision that he embodied, turned away from him because of the reform of the Labor Code

As a result of this concern, the working classes showed the strongest support for the social movements against these orders, especially that of September 12, considered "justified" by 65% ​​of the employees and 83% of the workers, against % of executives and higher intellectual professions. Ifop drew up a map of the mobilization, identifying in the most exhaustive way possible all the places where events were organized and by comparing the number of demonstrators with the number of inhabitants in the municipality. Even if this indicator has limits (imprecise counting, inflated figures, as in Marseille ...), the map shows a proportionally greater mobilization in the western regions (Brittany, Normandy, Pays de la Loire), in New France. -Aquitaine and in the former Midi-Pyrénées region. These regions correspond (with Ile-de-France) to the territories where Emmanuel Macron obtained his best results in the presidential election.

It can be hypothesised that some of the popular categories in these economically more dynamic regions, which had supported Emmanuel Macron around the themes of renewal and an optimistic and positive vision that he embodied, turned away from him. cause of this reform. Conversely, the working classes residing in the regions of the east of the country and in particular in the border territories, which had from the outset placed less expectations in Emmanuel Macron, as reported by journalist Gerald Andrieu in his work, The people of the border. 2,000 km of walking to meet the French who did not wait for Macron(Éditions du Cerf), seem to have become less mobilized and to have persisted in their posturing position.

● The feeling of an unfair policy

Some tax measures announced by the government are also the object of a strong dissatisfaction of employees and workers, nourishing the nagging feeling that they are "always the same" who are put to contribution, while the "assisted" on one side and the better-off of the other are better off. In addition to this long-standing reading grid in popular circles, the criticism of a policy that would first serve the "haves". The theme of "Robin des rich" (which takes the poor to give to the rich) outcrops in many verbatim collected by Ifop investigators.

The theme of "Robin of the rich" (which takes to the poor to give to the rich) outcrops in many verbatim

The monthly decrease of 5 euros of APL helped to anchor this perception. Although it has been criticized by all categories of the population, with 52% of executives saying they are "not satisfied", the opposition has been even stronger in popular circles (60%). To this was added the announcement of the elimination of many contracts helped and the one at the sharp decline of the ISF. The disarray and anger following these announcements point to some of the remarks of the employees and workers questioned by Ifop.

In this context, the elimination of unemployment and sickness contributions, which must more than compensate for a rise of 1.7 points in CSG, and thus result in a gain in purchasing power for employees, should be credited to the executive. But it was approved in August by 27% of employees and workers. No doubt because it was seen as a "tax trick" in which the state would always take back with a discreet hand what it has granted the other.

Comment expliquer la chute de Macron dans l'électorat populaire

● The impact of the taxation of tobacco and gasoline

Less commented, the rise in taxation on tobacco and fuels has met with a real echo among employees and workers. Despite a decline in all categories of the population, tobacco consumption remains socially very marked. The proportion of regular smokers among blue-collar workers is double that of executives; and 10 points higher among employees compared to executives. The announcement of the change from the price of the pack of cigarettes to 10 euros has passed as a letter to the post office among professionals and higher professions (favorable to 72%), but is overwhelmingly rejected by the workers (55%).

Higher taxes on diesel will impact more heavily on popular categories living in rural and peri-urban areas

Similarly, it is arguable that the rise in diesel taxes will have a greater impact on the popular categories living in rural and peri-urban areas. According to IFOP data, the ownership rate of diesel vehicles is indeed much higher. When only half of the households living less than 10 kilometers from the heart of one of the main French urban areas own a diesel vehicle, this rate climbs nearly 20 points as soon as one moves 10 kilometers from the city center ( 68%) to reach up to 77% for people living more than 60 km from a large metropolitan area. It will be recalled that in the fall of 2009, when it came to implementing the carbon tax for environmental reasons, popular circles were opposed to nearly 60% while executives and intellectual professions there were mostly favorable.

● Vaccination, security, immigration

Finally, there are sources of concern of a societal or regal nature. Popular categories are thus the most hostile to compulsory vaccination38% are in favor, compared to 47% among executives. Popular France is also the most hostile to the opening of two reception centers for asylum seekers in the North and Pas-de-Calais (21% favorable among the workers and the employees, against 40% of the CSPs). +). Finally, the lifting of the state of emergency is approved only 21% in the popular categories against 36% of the higher categories.

The practice of power and Macronian philosophy, which aim to increase mobility, are perceived as factors of insecurity by popular circles

Whereas, as Gérald Andrieu reminds us, the working classes are at first waiting for protection, permanence and stability, the practice of power and Macronian philosophy, which aim at increasing mobility (professional, geographical and statutory) and praise the movement, are likely to be perceived as factors of insecurity by popular circles. This political philosophy, which runs counter to their immediate perceptions, associated with what could be seen in these circles as a lack of consideration for them, has resulted in a brutal drop-out of the working classes, a movement that we do not had not observed for the two predecessors of Emmanuel Macron at the same period of their quinquennium.

Jérôme Fourquet is director of the opinion department of Ifop.

** Chloé Morin is director of the Observatoire de l'opinion of the Jean-Jaurès Foundation.



Source: © Le Figaro Premium - How to explain the fall of Macron in the popular electorate

6 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

Comment expliquer la chute de Macron dans l'électorat populaire

Home»A LA UNE»Comment expliquer la chute de Macron dans l’électorat populaire
Emmanuel Macron, le 3 octobre, lors de sa visite de l'usine Whirlpool à Amiens.

ÉTUDE POLITIQUE – Des ordonnances sur le travail au paquet de cigarettes à 10 euros, les causes sont nombreuses d’un décrochage des catégories populaires par rapport au chef de l’État.

Dans le baromètre Ifop-JDD, la chute de popularité d’Emmanuel Macron a été nettement plus prononcée parmi les employés (-26 points entre mai et septembre) et ouvriers (-24) que dans les autres catégories (-12 chez les cadres et professions intellectuelles supérieures). Cette baisse plus marquée est intervenue sur un terrain déjà préalablement moins favorable. C’est en effet parmi les catégories populaires qu’il avait réalisé ses moins bons scores au premier tour de la présidentielle. Et c’est aussi dans ces milieux sociaux que sa progression entre le premier et le second tour a été la moins forte: + 35 points chez les employés et + 25 points chez les ouvriers, contre + 44 points chez les CSP +. Les deux tiers de la France populaire se disent aujourd’hui mécontents du chef de l’État. Comment expliquer ce fossé croissant?

● Une réforme du Code du travail anxiogène

La réforme du Code du travail apparaît comme le principal ressort de ce mécontentement populaire. Les ouvriers et les employés s’avèrent ainsi les plus hostiles à celle-ci. Au cœur de l’été, et alors que le gouvernement n’avait pas encore précisé ses intentions, seulement 22 % d’entre eux se déclaraient favorables à la réforme du Code du travail, contre 40 % des CSP + (Ifop). Selon un sondage réalisé par l’institut Elabe le 29 août, les catégories populaires étaient également les moins enclines à souhaiter une réforme «en profondeur» du Code du travail (26 %, contre 40 % des CSP +). Les verbatims recueillis dans le cadre du baromètre Ifop/JDD montrent que la peur du licenciement est forte parmi les employés et les ouvriers, qui voient dans le Code du travail un élément de protection.

Une partie des catégories populaires qui avaient soutenu Emmanuel Macron autour des thématiques du renouvellement et d’une vision optimiste et positive qu’il incarnait, s’est détournée de lui à cause de la réforme du Code du travail

Sous l’effet de cette inquiétude, les milieux populaires ont témoigné du soutien le plus marqué aux mouvements sociaux contre ces ordonnances, notamment celui du 12 septembre dernier, considéré comme «justifié» par 65 % des employés et 83 % des ouvriers, contre 44 % des cadres et professions intellectuelles supérieures. L’Ifop a dressé une carte de la mobilisation, en identifiant de la manière la plus exhaustive possible tous les lieux où des manifestations ont été organisées et en mettant en regard le nombre de manifestants avec le nombre d’habitants dans la commune. Même si cet indicateur comporte des limites (comptage imprécis, chiffres gonflés, comme à Marseille…), la carte donne à voir une mobilisation proportionnellement plus importante dans les régions de l’Ouest (Bretagne, Normandie, Pays de la Loire), en Nouvelle-Aquitaine et dans l’ancienne région Midi-Pyrénées. Or ces régions correspondent (avec l’Ile-de-France) aux territoires où Emmanuel Macron avait obtenu ses meilleurs résultats à l’élection présidentielle.

On peut émettre l’hypothèse qu’une partie des catégories populaires de ces régions économiquement plutôt dynamiques, qui avaient soutenu Emmanuel Macron autour des thématiques du renouvellement et d’une vision optimiste et positive qu’il incarnait, s’est détournée de lui à cause de cette réforme. À l’inverse, les milieux populaires résidant dans les régions de l’est du pays et notamment dans les territoires frontaliers, qui avaient d’emblée placé moins d’attentes en Emmanuel Macron, comme le relate le journaliste Gérald Andrieu dans son ouvrage, Le Peuple de la frontière. 2 000 km de marche à la rencontre des Français qui n’attendaient pas Macron(Éditions du Cerf), semblent s’être moins mobilisés et avoir persisté dans leur posture de retrait.

● Le sentiment d’une politique injuste

Certaines mesures fiscales annoncées par le gouvernement font également l’objet d’un fort mécontentement des employés et ouvriers, nourrissant le sentiment lancinant que ce sont «toujours les mêmes» qui sont mis à contribution, alors que les «assistés» d’un côté et les plus aisés de l’autre s’en sortent mieux. À cette grille de lecture prégnante de longue date dans les milieux populaires est venue s’ajouter la critique d’une politique qui serait d’abord au service des «nantis». La thématique du «Robin des riches» (qui prend aux pauvres pour donner aux riches) affleure dans de nombreux verbatims recueillis par les enquêteurs de l’Ifop.

La thématique du «Robin des riches» (qui prend aux pauvres pour donner aux riches) affleure dans de nombreux verbatims

La baisse mensuelle de 5 euros des APL a contribué à ancrer cette perception. Si elle a été critiquée par toutes les catégories de la population, 52 % des cadres ne se disant «pas satisfaits», l’opposition a été plus forte encore dans les milieux populaires (60 %). À cela se sont ajoutées l’annonce de la suppression de nombreux contrats aidés et celle de la forte diminution de l’ISF. Le désarroi et la colère suite à ces annonces pointent dans certains des propos des employés et ouvriers interrogés par l’Ifop.

Dans ce contexte, la suppression des cotisations chômage et maladie, qui doit plus que compenser une hausse de 1,7 point de CSG, donc se traduire par un gain de pouvoir d’achat pour les salariés, devrait être mise au crédit de l’exécutif. Or elle n’était approuvée en août que par 27 % des employés et ouvriers. Sans doute parce qu’elle a été vue comme un «tour de passe-passe fiscal» selon lequel, l’État reprendrait toujours d’une main discrète ce qu’il a accordé de l’autre.

Comment expliquer la chute de Macron dans l'électorat populaire

● L’impact de la fiscalité du tabac et de l’essence

Moins commentée, la hausse de la fiscalité sur le tabac et les carburants a rencontré un écho réel parmi les employés et les ouvriers. En dépit d’un recul dans toutes les catégories de la population, la consommation de tabac reste socialement très marquée. La proportion de fumeurs réguliers chez les ouvriers est le double de celle observée chez les cadres ; et de 10 points supérieure parmi les employés comparativement aux cadres. L’annonce du passage du prix du paquet de cigarettes à 10 euros est passée comme une lettre à la poste parmi les cadres et professions intellectuelles et supérieures (favorables à 72 %), mais est massivement rejetée par les ouvriers (55 %).

La hausse des taxes sur le diesel impactera plus fortement les catégories populaires habitant en zones rurales et périur­baines

De même, il est permis de penser que la hausse des taxes sur le diesel impactera plus fortement les catégories populaires habitant en zones rurales et périurbaines. D’après les données de l’Ifop, le taux de possession de véhicules diesels y est en effet bien plus élevé. Quand seule la moitié des ménages habitant à moins de 10 kilomètres du cœur d’une des principales aires urbaines françaises possède un véhicule diesel, ce taux grimpe de près de 20 points dès qu’on s’éloigne de 10 kilomètres du centre-ville (68 %) pour atteindre jusqu’à 77 % pour les personnes habitant à plus de 60 km d’une grande agglomération. On rappellera qu’à l’automne 2009, quand il s’était agi de mettre en place la taxe carbone pour des raisons environnementales, les milieux populaires s’étaient montrés opposés à près de 60 % alors que les cadres et les professions intellectuelles y étaient majoritairement favorables.

● Vaccination, sécurité, immigration

S’ajoutent enfin des sources d’inquiétude d’ordre sociétal ou régalien. Les catégories populaires sont ainsi les plus hostiles à la vaccination obligatoire: 38 % sont favorables, contre 47 % parmi les cadres. La France populaire est également la plus hostile à l’ouverture de deux centres d’accueil pour les demandeurs d’asile dans le Nord et le Pas-de-Calais (21 % favorables parmi les ouvriers et les employés, contre 40 % des CSP +). Enfin, la levée de l’état d’urgence n’est approuvée qu’à 21 % dans les catégories populaires contre 36 % des catégories supérieures.

La pratique du pouvoir et la philosophie macroniennes, qui visent à accroître la mobilité, sont perçus comme des facteurs d’insécurisation par les milieux populaires

Alors que, comme le rappelle Gérald Andrieu, les milieux populaires sont d’abord en attente de protection, de permanence et de stabilité, la pratique du pouvoir et la philosophie macroniennes, qui visent à accroître la mobilité (professionnelle, géographique et statutaire) et font l’éloge du mouvement, risquent d’être perçus comme des facteurs d’insécurisation par les milieux populaires. Cette philosophie politique allant à l’encontre de leurs perceptions immédiates, associées à ce qui a pu être vu dans ces milieux comme un manque de considération à leur égard, a abouti à un décrochage brutal des milieux populaires, mouvement que l’on n’avait pas observé pour les deux prédécesseurs d’Emmanuel Macron à la même période de leur quinquennat.

Jérôme Fourquet est directeur du département opinionde l’Ifop.

** Chloé Morin est directrice de l’observatoire de l’opinionde la Fondation Jean-Jaurès.



Source :© Le Figaro Premium – Comment expliquer la chute de Macron dans l’électorat populaire

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais