Leaving LR, Xavier Bertrand ends a 35-year-old story

Home"TO THE ONE"Leaving LR, Xavier Bertrand ends a 35-year-old story
5 Partages
Xavier Bertrand and Laurent Wauquiez in Paris, November 15, 2010. - Photo credits: BERTRAND GUAY / AFP

THE POLITICAL SCAN - The president of the Hauts-de-France region announced this Monday night on France 2 that he was going to resign from Vaugirard's party. His activist commitment to the right began at the RPR at sixteen.

The love will have lasted 35 years. The president of the region Hauts-de-France, Xavier Bertrand, announced this Monday night on France 2 that he was going to leave the Republicans in the wake of the election of Laurent Wauquiez at the head of the party. This decision comes to put an end to more than three decades of activism and active engagement, since the northerner took his card at the RPR at the age of sixteen, in 1981, before continuing the adventure with the UMP in 2002, then LR in August 2014.

Despite a first defeat at the municipal elections of 1989 in Saint-Quentin (Aisne), Xavier Bertrand works to establish himself locally, and he became deputy mayor in 1995 before being elected deputy of the department in 2002. In parallel with its success elections, this insurer by profession is experiencing a meteoric rise in power within the right. In 2003, the time when Alain Juppé presided over the UMP, he is responsible for the pedagogy of pension reform via a "tour de France".

He becomes general secretary of the UMP in 2009

A year later, in 2004, Xavier Bertrand was rewarded by Jacques Chirac and Jean-Pierre Raffarin, who appointed him Secretary of State for Health Insurance - under the tutelage of the Minister of Solidarity, Health and Family , Philippe Douste-Blazy. Appreciated by the executive, he took advantage of the 2005 reshuffle that saw Dominique de Villepin come to Matignon to replace his minister and tutelage in turn become Minister of Health and Solidarity.

Nicolas Sarkozy's support for the 2007 presidential election, he is named spokesperson for the candidate and chooses to leave the government to become fully involved in the campaign. A winning bet, which will earn him the appointment of Minister of Labor after the victory of his champion. At the end of 2008, the promotion of Patrick Devedjian to the Ministry of Recovery forced him to act as interim president of the UMP, then to take the lead in January 2009 - when he left the government and found the 'Assembly.

Candidate for the primary ... Before giving up

Nearly two years later, in November 2010, he finally returned to the Ministry of Labor, Employment and Health during a reshuffle, and he leaves the general secretariat of the UMP. He then plans to take over the leadership of Vaugirard's party in September 2012, since he claims at the time to have gathered the sponsorship necessary to run as a candidate for the presidency of the party ... But he finally gives up the race.

Deputy mayor of Saint-Quentin (Aisne), he announced in 2015 his intention to drive the UMP list for regional Hauts-de-France, and it formalizes in the course of the year his candidacy for the primary of the right scheduled for November 2016. But his victory in December 2015, obtained against Marine Le Pen thanks in particular to the withdrawal of the socialist list, convinces him to give up his municipal and parliamentary mandates, as well as his ambitions for the presidential election.

Wauquiez's report to Macron finishes convincing him

Rallied to François Fillon - for whom he has quietly voted in the two rounds of the primary - Xavier Bertrand breaks with the LR candidate at the beginning of 2017, when The chained Duck reveals the case of the allegedly fictitious jobs of his relatives. From this date, the president of the Hauts-de-France enters a period extremely critical vis-à-vis his camp, which he denounced the relentlessness to support the former elected of the Sarthe rather than choose a Plan B for the presidential election.

Kind to Emmanuel Macron, whose qualities he publicly praises, Xavier Bertrand asserts however in May, in the columns of the Figaro that he "answered no to the rallying" to the new head of state. At this time, however, he says he has stopped paying his dues to LR since the party preferred to call to vote against Marine Le Pen than for the candidate of En marche !. A supposed radicalization that translates, according to him, by Laurent Wauquiez's coronation ... And from which he wants to keep himself at a distance.

Source: Leaving LR, Xavier Bertrand ends a 35-year-old story

5 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

En quittant LR, Xavier Bertrand met fin à une histoire vieille de plus de 35 ans

Home»A LA UNE»En quittant LR, Xavier Bertrand met fin à une histoire vieille de plus de 35 ans
En quittant LR, Xavier Bertrand met fin à une histoire vieille de plus de 35 ans
Xavier Bertrand et Laurent Wauquiez à Paris, le 15 novembre 2010. – Crédits photo : BERTRAND GUAY/AFP

LE SCAN POLITIQUE – Le président de la région Hauts-de-France a annoncé ce lundi soir sur France 2 qu’il allait démissionner du parti de Vaugirard. Son engagement militant à droite avait commencé au RPR dès ses seize ans.

L’amour aura duré 35 ans. Le président de la région Hauts-de-France, Xavier Bertrand, a annoncé ce lundi soir sur France 2 qu’il allait quitter les Républicains dans la foulée de l’élection de Laurent Wauquiez à la tête du parti. Cette décision vient mettre un terme à plus de trois décennies de militantisme et d’engagement actifs, puisque le nordiste avait pris sa carte au RPR dès ses seize ans, en 1981, avant de poursuivre l’aventure avec l’UMP en 2002, puis LR en août 2014.

Malgré une première défaite lors des municipales de 1989 à Saint-Quentin (Aisne), Xavier Bertrand œuvre à s’implanter localement, et il devient adjoint au maire en 1995 avant d’être élu député du département en 2002. En parallèle de ses succès électoraux, cet assureur de profession connaît une ascension partisane fulgurante au sein de la droite. En 2003, du temps où Alain Juppé présidait l’UMP, il est chargé de faire la pédagogie de la réforme des retraites via un «tour de France».

Il devient secrétaire général de l’UMP en 2009

Un an plus tard, en 2004, Xavier Bertrand est récompensé par Jacques Chirac et Jean-Pierre Raffarin, qui le nomment secrétaire d’État chargé de l’Assurance maladie – sous la tutelle du ministre des Solidarités, de la Santé et de la Famille, Philippe Douste-Blazy. Apprécié de l’exécutif, il profite du remaniement de 2005 qui voit Dominique de Villepin arriver à Matignon pour remplacer son ministre de tutelle et devenir à son tour ministre de la Santé et des Solidarités.

Soutien de Nicolas Sarkozy pour la présidentielle de 2007, il est nommé porte-parole du candidat et choisit de quitter le gouvernement pour s’impliquer pleinement dans la campagne. Un pari gagnant, qui lui vaudra d’être nommé ministre du Travail après la victoire de son champion. Fin 2008, la promotion de Patrick Devedjian au ministère de la Relance l’oblige à assurer l’intérim de la présidence de l’UMP, puis d’en prendre la tête en janvier 2009 – date à laquelle il quitte le gouvernement et retrouve l’Assemblée.

Candidat à la primaire… Avant de renoncer

Près de deux ans plus tard, en novembre 2010, il réintègre finalement le ministère du Travail, de l’Emploi et de la Santé à l’occasion d’un remaniement, et il quitte donc le secrétariat général de l’UMP. Il envisage ensuite de reprendre la tête du parti de Vaugirard en septembre 2012, puisqu’il affirme à l’époque avoir réuni les parrainages nécessaires pour se présenter comme candidat à la présidence du parti… Mais il renonce finalement à se lancer dans la course.

Député-maire de Saint-Quentin (Aisne), il annonce en 2015 son intention de conduire la liste UMP pour les régionales dans les Hauts-de-France, et il officialise dans le courant de l’année sa candidature à la primaire de la droite prévue pour novembre 2016. Mais sa victoire au scrutin de décembre 2015, obtenue face à Marine Le Pen grâce notamment au retrait de la liste socialiste, le convainc de renoncer à ses mandats municipal et parlementaire, ainsi qu’à ses ambitions en vue de l’élection présidentielle.

Le rapport de Wauquiez à Macron finit de le convaincre

Rallié à François Fillon – pour qui il a discrètement voté aux deux tours de la primaire -, Xavier Bertrand rompt avec le candidat LR dès le début de l’année 2017, au moment où Le Canard enchaîné révèle l’affaire des emplois présumés fictifs de ses proches. À partir de cette date, le président des Hauts-de-France entre dans une période extrêmement critique vis-à-vis de son camp, dont il dénonce l’acharnement à soutenir l’ancien élu de la Sarthe plutôt qu’à choisir un plan B pour la présidentielle.

Bienveillant à l’égard d’Emmanuel Macron, dont il vante publiquement les qualités, Xavier Bertrand affirme cependant en mai, dans les colonnes du Figaro , qu’il a «répondu non au ralliement» au nouveau chef de l’État. À cette période, il fait toutefois savoir qu’il a cessé de payer ses cotisations à LR depuis que le parti a préféré appeler à voter contre Marine Le Pen que pour le candidat d’En marche!. Une radicalisation supposée qui se traduit selon lui par le sacre de Laurent Wauquiez… Et dont il veut se tenir à distance.

Source: En quittant LR, Xavier Bertrand met fin à une histoire vieille de plus de 35 ans

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais