Electrifying Elektra at the Philharmonie de Paris

Home"TO THE ONE"Electrifying Elektra at the Philharmonie de Paris
3 Partages
Électrisante Elektra à la Philharmonie de Paris
Swedish soprano Nina Stemme played Elektra. - Photo credits: Neda Navaee / Philharmonie de Paris

CHRONICLE - At the head of the Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra, Mikko Franck has given Strauss' opera an anthology dimension. Nina Stemme has lived in the title role, surrounded by Matthias Goerne, Waltraud Meier and Gun-Brit Barkmin.

Almost three years after the opening of the Philharmonie of Paris, where the public is already stingy with enthusiasm, we do not remember a more spectacular ovation. As soon as the final agreement ElektraAs it sounded last Friday, 2400 people suddenly stood up as if it were obvious, shouting their enthusiasm as if to free themselves from a tension too long contained. It is true that the one-act opera created in 1909 is an electroshock that would leave K.-O. the most resistant listener. Richard Strauss and his librettist Hugo von Hofmannsthal realized a concentration of ecstatic tension, ruthless, whose tragic fury reaches the trance.

One could fear the absence of staging, especially with in memory the masterpiece made in Aix-en-Provence by Patrice Chéreau, whose leadership of actors so just suddenly made these mythological figures of human beings.

Certainly, the concert version has its drawbacks: seeing the singers come and go in tuxedos and evening gowns, to sit at their desks and drink from the bottlenecks of their plastic water bottles, does not really help to identify themselves. to the characters. But if it is not applicable to all works, the formula has a huge advantage when it comes to Elektra: in this dramaturgy where the orchestra is a full-fledged character, tied with the voices, placing the musicians on the platform and not in the pit allows to concentrate 100% on the music and to highlight as ever the Straussian art of instrumentation.

Lucid wand

That's all the merit of Mikko Franck to have taken advantage of this configuration to chisel the orchestration with sovereign control. His great merit: do not succumb to the temptation of indiscriminate decibel release, yet quickly arrived with this staff of 104 musicians. We can imagine a wilder direction, more visceral, but not more balanced. Thanks to his always lucid baton, the Philharmonic Orchestra of Radio France remains transparent even in the blast, and the brilliant winds never crush strings that do not forget to sing. No doubt a contribution of their first violin one evening, Volkhard Steude, Konzertmeister of the Vienna Philharmonic called as guest.

Insider benefit: Voices are rarely covered by the orchestra. And it was the least, with such voices! That of Matthias Goerne (Oreste) aims to be more rounded and deep. That of Waltraud Meier no longer has the power of yesteryear, but this subtlety of the word, this feminine class, this anguish of Clytemnestra, are forever historical. That of Gun-Brit Barkmin is not the most seductive, but its clarity, its laser projection rid Chrysothemis of all silliness: a future Elektra? Meanwhile, it is Nina Stemme who faces the overwhelming title role with much more than endurance, a proud dignity, a compact power, a supreme control that finally turn this evening into a memorable one.


 

 

Source: ©  Electrifying Elektra at the Philharmonie de Paris

3 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

Électrisante Elektra à la Philharmonie de Paris

Home»A LA UNE»Électrisante Elektra à la Philharmonie de Paris
Électrisante Elektra à la Philharmonie de Paris
La soprano suédoise Nina Stemme incarnait Elektra. – Crédits photo : Neda Navaee/Philharmonie de Paris

CHRONIQUE – A la tête de l’Orchestre philharmonique de Radio France, Mikko Franck a donné à l’opéra de Strauss une dimension d’anthologie. Nina Stemme a habité le rôle-titre, entourée de Matthias Goerne, Waltraud Meier et Gun-Brit Barkmin.

Presque trois ans après l’ouverture de la Philharmonie de Paris, où le public est déjà peu avare de son enthousiasme, on ne se rappelle pas ovation plus spectaculaire. Dès l’accord final d’Elektra, tel qu’il a retenti vendredi dernier, 2400 personnes se sont levées soudain comme si cela allait de soi, hurlant leur enthousiasme comme pour se libérer d’une tension trop longtemps contenue. Il est vrai que l’opéra en un acte créé en 1909 est un électrochoc qui laisserait K.-O. l’auditeur le plus résistant. Richard Strauss et son librettiste Hugo von Hofmannsthal ont réalisé là un concentré de tension extatique, impitoyable, dont la fureur tragique atteint la transe.

On pouvait craindre l’absence de mise en scène, surtout avec en mémoire le chef-d’œuvre réalisé à Aix-en-Provence par Patrice Chéreau, dont la direction d’acteurs si juste faisait soudain de ces figures mythologiques des êtres humains.

Certes, la version de concert a ses inconvénients: voir les chanteurs aller et venir en smoking et robe du soir, se river à leur pupitre et boire au goulot de leur bouteille d’eau en plastique, n’aide pas vraiment à s’identifier aux personnages. Mais si elle n’est pas applicable à toutes les œuvres, la formule a un avantage énorme s’agissant d’Elektra: dans cette dramaturgie où l’orchestre est un personnage à part entière, à égalité avec les voix, placer les musiciens sur l’estrade et non dans la fosse permet de se concentrer à 100% sur la musique et de mettre en valeur comme jamais l’art straussien de l’instrumentation.

Baguette lucide

C’est tout le mérite de Mikko Franck d’avoir tiré parti de cette configuration pour ciseler l’orchestration avec une maîtrise souveraine. Son grand mérite: ne pas succomber à la tentation du déchaînement indistinct de décibels, pourtant vite arrivé avec cet effectif de 104 musiciens. On peut imaginer direction plus sauvage, plus viscérale, mais pas plus équilibrée. Grâce à sa baguette toujours lucide, l’Orchestre philharmonique de Radio France reste transparent jusque dans les déflagrations, et les vents éclatants n’écrasent jamais des cordes qui n’oublient pas de chanter. Sans doute un apport de leur premier violon d’un soir, Volkhard Steude, Konzertmeister du Philharmonique de Vienne appelé comme invité.

Avantage insigne: les voix ne sont que rarement couvertes par l’orchestre. Et c’était bien le moins, avec des voix pareilles! Celle de Matthias Goerne (Oreste) vise à toujours plus de rondeur et de profondeur. Celle de Waltraud Meier n’a plus la puissance d’antan, mais cette subtilité du mot, cette classe féminine, cette angoisse de Clytemnestre, sont à jamais historiques. Celle de Gun-Brit Barkmin n’est pas la plus séduisante, mais sa clarté, sa projection au laser débarrassent Chrysothémis de toute mièvrerie: une future Elektra? En attendant, c’est Nina Stemme qui affronte l’écrasant rôle-titre avec bien plus que de l’endurance, une dignité altière, une puissance compacte, un contrôle suprême qui achèvent de faire basculer cette soirée dans le mémorable.


 

 

Source:©  Électrisante Elektra à la Philharmonie de Paris

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais