Elections in Catalonia: Puigdemont boasts "a result nobody can discuss"

Home"TO THE ONE"Elections in Catalonia: Puigdemont boasts "a result nobody can discuss"
2 Partages
Catalan independence supporters wave to 'estelada' (pro-independence Catalan flag) celebrate at the ANC (Catalan National Assembly) headquarters after results of the regional elections in Barcelona, ​​Spain, Thursday, Dec. 21, 2017. The pro-secession bloc won a majority but the anti-independence Ciutadans (Citizens), led by 36-year-old lawyer Ines Arrimadas, won the highest number of votes for a single party. ANC is Catalan pro independence platform promoting the political independence of Catalonia (AP Photo / Emilio Morenatti)

More than two months after the referendum of self-determination, the Catalans were called to the polls Thursday to renew the regional Parliament.

Bet won for separatists? According to almost final results, Thursday, December 21, the three independentist parties (ERC-CatSi, Together for Catalonia, CUP) get the majority of seats in the regional parliament - 70 out of 135. However, it is the liberal centrist party Cuidadanos that arrives at the head of the vote with 25% of the vote (37 seats) while the participation reached a historical level (82%, against 75% in 2015).

Read also:   Catalonia: after the ballot, "the possibility of forming a government is not guaranteed"

Catalonia's list of disputed separatist president Carles Puigdemont would win 34 seats, and the Republican Left of Catalonia (ERC), his former vice-president jailed, Oriol Junqueras, would have 32.

With the anti-capitalist CUP (4 elected), the three independentist lists would together obtain 70 seats and regain the absolute majority they had in the parliament dissolved by the central government. The party of Prime Minister Mariano Rajoy, the People's Party, receives only 4% of the vote and 3 seats.

Puigdemont rejoices

Catalan separatist leader in exile Carles Puigdemont on Thursday evening hailed the victory of the separatist camp in Brussels, stressing that "A result that no one can discuss". He added that it was a victory for the «Catalan Republic» on the Spanish state.

Spanish Prime Minister Mariano "Rajoy lost the plebiscite he was looking for", and the fact that the separatist camp remains in the majority is " a slap "jubilant Mr Puigdemont in front of a small parterre of Catalan independence activists and Flemish nationalist sympathizers gathered in a room in the center of Brussels.

"Our position on the question of Catalonia is well known and has been reiterated regularly, and at all levels. She will not change. In the case of a regional election, we have no comment to make »said a spokesman for the European Commission, Alexander Winterstein.

These elections were held more than two months after the self-determination referendum organized by the Catalan government, despite Madrid's refusal. The yes then won with 90% of the votes, but with only 43% of participation.

Catalonia has "Earned the right to have an independent state in the form of a republic", then launches the Catalan president, Carles Puigdemont. There followed several weeks of tensions and ultimatums between Madrid and Barcelona.

Read also:   From the former Yugoslavia to Catalonia, the thousand shades of independence

On October 27, the Catalan deputies vote a declaration proclaiming the independence of Catalonia by 70 votes for and 10 against. The break with Madrid is consumed, but the symbolic victory is short-lived.

Less than an hour later, the Senate votes on the application of Article 155 of the Constitution, which allows Mariano Rajoy to place Catalonia under tutelage. The Spanish prime minister assumes the presidency of the region, dismisses the Catalan government, dissolves the regional parliament and calls for regional elections on 21 December.

Read also:   Catalonia: why the Spanish state still struggles to federate

While the unionists begin to be heard and mobilize in the streets, Mr. Puigdemont is targeted by a complaint of the prosecutor at the end of October, including "rebellion, sedition and embezzlement." He will then decide to flee for Belgium, where he has campaigned for these elections in recent weeks.

 

Source: ©  Elections in Catalonia: Puigdemont boasts "a result nobody can discuss"

2 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Elections en Catalogne : Puigdemont vante « un résultat que personne ne peut discuter »

Home»A LA UNE»Elections en Catalogne : Puigdemont vante « un résultat que personne ne peut discuter »
Elections en Catalogne : Puigdemont vante « un résultat que personne ne peut discuter »
Catalan independence supporters wave a ‘estelada’ ( pro-independence Catalan flag ) celebrate at the ANC ( Catalan National Assembly ) headquarters after results of the regional elections in Barcelona, Spain, Thursday, Dec. 21, 2017. The pro-secession bloc won a majority but the anti-independence Ciutadans (Citizens), led by 36-year-old lawyer Ines Arrimadas, won the highest number of votes for a single party. ANC is Catalan pro independence platform promoting the political independence of Catalonia.(AP Photo/Emilio Morenatti)

Plus de deux mois après le référendum d’autodétermination, les Catalans étaient appelés aux urnes jeudi pour renouveler le Parlement régional.

Pari gagné pour les indépendantistes ? Selon des résultats quasi définitifs, jeudi 21 décembre, les trois partis indépendantistes (ERC-CatSi, Ensemble pour la Catalogne, CUP) obtiennent la majorité des sièges au parlement régional — 70 sur 135. C’est toutefois le parti centriste libéral Cuidadanos qui arrive en tête des suffrages avec 25 % des voix (37 sièges) alors que la participation a atteint un niveau historique (82 %, contre 75 % en 2015).

Lire aussi :   Catalogne : à l’issue du scrutin, « la possibilité de former un gouvernement n’est pas garantie »

La liste Ensemble pour la Catalogne, du président séparatiste destitué Carles Puigdemont, obtiendrait 34 élus, et la Gauche républicaine de Catalogne (ERC), de son ex-vice-président emprisonné, Oriol Junqueras, en aurait 32.

Avec les anticapitalistes de la CUP (4 élus), les trois listes indépendantistes obtiendraient ainsi ensemble 70 sièges et retrouveraient la majorité absolue dont elles disposaient dans le parlement dissous par le gouvernement central. Le parti du premier ministre, Mariano Rajoy, le Parti populaire, ne récolte que 4 % des voix et 3 sièges.

Puigdemont jubile

Le dirigeant séparatiste catalan en exil Carles Puigdemont a salué jeudi soir à Bruxelles la victoire du camp indépendantiste, soulignant que c’est « un résultat que personne ne peut discuter ». Il a ajouté  que c’était une victoire de la « République catalane » sur l’Etat espagnol.

Le Premier ministre espagnol Mariano « Rajoy a perdu le plébiscite qu’il cherchait », et le fait que le camp indépendantiste reste majoritaire est « une claque », a jubilé M. Puigdemont devant un petit parterre de militants indépendantistes catalans et de sympathisants nationalistes flamands réunis dans une salle du centre de Bruxelles.

« Notre position sur la question de la Catalogne est bien connue et a été réitérée régulièrement, et à tous les niveaux. Elle ne changera pas. S’agissant d’une élection régionale, nous n’avons pas de commentaire à faire », a indiqué pour sa part un porte-parole de la Commission européenne, Alexandre Winterstein.

Ces élections se sont tenues plus de deux mois après le référendum d’autodétermination organisée par le gouvernement catalan, en dépit du refus de Madrid. Le oui l’avait alors emporté avec 90 % des voix, mais avec seulement 43 % de participation.

La Catalogne a « gagné le droit d’avoir un Etat indépendant sous la forme d’une république », lance alors le président catalan, Carles Puigdemont. S’ensuivent alors plusieurs semaines de tensions et d’ultimatums entre Madrid et Barcelone.

Lire aussi :   De l’ex-Yougoslavie à la Catalogne, les mille nuances de l’indépendance

Le 27 octobre, les députés catalans votent une déclaration proclamant l’indépendance de la Catalogne par 70 voix pour et 10 contre. La rupture avec Madrid est consommée, mais la victoire symbolique est de courte durée.

Moins d’une heure plus tard, le Sénat vote l’application de l’article 155 de la Constitution, qui permet à Mariano Rajoy de placer la Catalogne sous tutelle. Le premier ministre espagnol assume la présidence de la région, destitue le gouvernement catalan, dissout le Parlement régional et convoque des élections régionales le 21 décembre.

Lire aussi :   Catalogne : pourquoi l’Etat espagnol peine toujours à fédérer

Alors que les unionistes commencent à se faire entendre et à se mobiliser dans les rues, M. Puigdemont est visé par une plainte du parquet, à la fin d’octobre, notamment pour « rébellion, sédition et malversation ». Il décidera alors de s’enfuir pour la Belgique, où il a fait campagne pour ces élections ces dernières semaines.

 

Source:©  Elections en Catalogne : Puigdemont vante « un résultat que personne ne peut discuter »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais