Edmond Rostand, the man who wanted to do well, François Taillandier: argument for a misunderstood

Home"Anciens2"Edmond Rostand, the man who wanted to do well, François Taillandier: argument for a misunderstood
2 Partages

WOMEN AND THEIR MODEL - Delivering themselves with pleasure in an exercise of admiration, Frédéric Vitoux, François Taillandier, Benoît Duteurtre and Christian Authier each celebrate a writer or an artist who has been with them for a long time. Chapter 4: François Taillandier and Edmond Rostand.

It's been a long time since François Taillandier had promised to write this book to pay tribute to Edmond Rostand, the idol of his fifteen years. If he delayed, it was because he knew that it would be difficult for him to transmit his passion for the author of Cyrano . At first sight, Rostand has less charm than his hero. Bravery was not his forte. As for its "verbal virtuosity" which sometimes turns to "the preciousness", it is no longer the taste of our time. And yet ...

François Taillandier.
François Taillandier. - Photo credits: Jean-Christophe MARMARA / Le Figaro

Born in 1868 among the liberal bourgeoisie of Marseille, the young Edmond only thought of writing verses. He was not a rebel, just a dreamer. He will never rise up against the conformism of his environment. He preferred to dine with the rich than frequent the literary cafes where the world is redone. Bohemia, very little for him. Seen from the other end of the twentieth century, knowing that the poetic revolution operated by Baudelaire, Mallarmé, Rimbaud had taken place, it is difficult to understand. In spite of his all-out curiosity, he will only write Alexandrines and Octosyllables. He was not a visionary writer. Unlike Taillandier, who has always been keenly aware of his time, he did not feel that Belle Epoque France was dancing on a vacuum.

Taillandier, evoking the beginnings of Rostand in the theater, writes: "We formed ourselves of what a poet is, a completely different idea than that of this young married with a false collar and gaiters, who appears to have emerged from a vaudeville of Eugene Labiche.

The cause of Rostand, therefore, seemed lost in advance. In this respect, this work has the beauty of pleadings where lawyers at the top of their art put all their faith and deploy the best of their talent to do justice to a man they can not rehabilitate in the eyes of society. What a panache!

To better surprise and shoe his reader when he reveals the deep cracks of his hero too prickly, Taillandier drives the nail. He cites examples of Rostand's "choppy style". He feels sorry for himself and seems to blush for himself for having adored this "sensibility that turns to the foolishness". He wonders. Why, romantic teenager in France after 68, did he take a passion for this "old glory"?

Rostand, after the miraculous success of "Cyrano" when he was twenty-nine, was as famous as Jean d'Ormesson and Johnny gathered

Ah, the glory ... The eternal teenagers of old do not dream of them nowadays? Rostand, after the miraculous success of Cyrano when he was twenty-nine and his election to the Academy in the wake, was as famous as Jean d'Ormesson and Johnny together. All France loves him. Taillandier explains why Cyrano, defeated magnificent, saved by his words, full of moral nobility, pride, humor, touches the French of the time. To the point that we sell pipes, biscuits and ointments with the effigy of Cyrano. Rostand becomes a sort of official poet. Women fall at his feet.

But the pictures of him all smiles as published by the press are misleading. In fact, Rostand is a tortured and misunderstood. That's why Taillandier likes it. The public believes, for example, that his play on the Aiglon exalts the imperial glory while it is the story of a velletic young man, crushed by the stature of the father, who is scuttled. He will write it himself, in the epigraph of the play published in book: "And this is nothing else / That the story of a poor child."

- Photo credits: The Observatory

Here we are. Basically, Rostand is a big feverish child who wants to do too well. He takes things so seriously that he gets sick. An idealist. He multiplies the conquests that reassure him, neglecting his devoted wife without which he would perhaps never have come to the end of the writing of Cyrano. But he longs for something else. "It is for Heaven that great loves work," he writes.

Reason, peroration. Taillandier punctuates his story by alternating points of view. Ask him about it. Staged the era in striking paintings. Look at Rostand's work and reveal the hidden beauties. We want to read The Samaritan, inspired by the evangelical episode. And The Last Night of Don Juan, the story of a man who wanted to own everything but knew nothing, liked nothing, created nothing, "one of the most beautiful Don Juan never written after Molière, after Mozart ".

The end is coming. During the war, before dying in 1918, Rostand put his pen in the service of his homeland but did not question the absurd trench butchery. This lack of vision and critical thinking disappoints Taillandier. He seems ready to let go. But in a final flight, summoning Aragon who, in 1940, will return to Alexandrine to speak to all the French, he saves the master he loved so much. We applaud.

"Edmond Rostand, the man who wanted to do well", François Taillandier, Ed. of the Observatory, 231 p., 19 €.

 

 

Source: © Edmond Rostand, the man who wanted to do well, François Taillandier: argument for a misunderstood

2 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Edmond Rostand, l'homme qui voulait bien faire, de François Taillandier : plaidoirie pour un incompris

Home»Anciens2»Edmond Rostand, l’homme qui voulait bien faire, de François Taillandier : plaidoirie pour un incompris

Edmond Rostand, l'homme qui voulait bien faire, de François Taillandier : plaidoirie pour un incompris

DES ÉCRIVAINS ET LEUR MODÈLE – Se livrant avec bonheur à un exercice d’admiration, Frédéric Vitoux, François Taillandier, Benoît Duteurtre et Christian Authier, célèbrent chacun leur tour un écrivain ou un artiste qui les accompagne depuis longtemps. Chapitre 4 : François Taillandier et Edmond Rostand.

Il y a longtemps que François Taillandier s’était promis d’écrire ce livre pour rendre hommage à Edmond Rostand, l’idole de ses quinze ans. S’il a différé, c’est qu’il savait qu’il lui serait difficile de transmettre sa passion pour l’auteur de Cyrano . À première vue, Rostand a moins de charme que son héros. La bravoure n’était pas son fort. Quant à sa «virtuosité verbale» qui tourne parfois à «la préciosité», elle n’est plus du goût de notre époque. Et pourtant…

François Taillandier.
François Taillandier. – Crédits photo : Jean-Christophe MARMARA/Le Figaro

Né en 1868 au sein de la grande bourgeoisie libérale de Marseille, le jeune Edmond ne pensait qu’à écrire des vers. Il n’était pas un révolté, juste un rêveur. Jamais d’ailleurs il ne s’érigera contre le conformisme de son milieu. Il préférait dîner chez les riches que fréquenter les cafés littéraires où l’on refait le monde. La bohème, très peu pour lui. Vu de l’autre bout du XXe siècle, sachant que la révolution poétique opérée par Baudelaire, Mallarmé, Rimbaud avait eu lieu, on a du mal à le comprendre. Malgré sa curiosité tous azimuts, il n’écrira jamais que des alexandrins et des octosyllabes. Il n’était pas un écrivain visionnaire. À l’inverse de Taillandier qui a toujours observé son époque avec acuité, il n’a pas senti que la France de la Belle Époque dansait sur du vide.

Taillandier, évoquant les débuts de Rostand au théâtre, écrit: «Nous nous sommes formés de ce qu’est un poète, une tout autre idée que celle de ce jeune marié à faux col et à guêtres, qui paraît sorti d’un vaudeville d’Eugène Labiche.»

La cause de Rostand, donc, semblait perdue d’avance. À cet égard, cet ouvrage a la beauté des plaidoiries où des avocats au sommet de leur art mettent toute leur foi et déploient le meilleur de leur talent pour rendre justice à un homme qu’ils ne pourront réhabiliter aux yeux de la société. Quel panache!

Pour mieux surprendre et ferrer son lecteur au moment où il révélera les profondes fêlures de son héros trop coquet, Taillandier enfonce le clou. Il cite des exemples du «style tarabiscoté» de Rostand. Il a de la peine pour lui et semble rougir pour lui-même d’avoir adoré cette «sensibilité qui tourne à la mièvrerie». Il s’interroge. Pourquoi, adolescent romantique dans la France d’après 68, s’est-il pris de passion pour cette «vieille gloire» ?

Rostand, après le succès miraculeux de «Cyrano» lorsqu’il avait vingt-neuf ans, était aussi célèbre que Jean d’Ormesson et Johnny réunis

Ah, la gloire… Les éternels adolescents d’autrefois n’en rêvent-ils pas encore de nos jours? Rostand, après le succès miraculeux de Cyrano lorsqu’il avait vingt-neuf ans et son élection à l’Académie dans la foulée, était aussi célèbre que Jean d’Ormesson et Johnny réunis. Toute la France l’aime. Taillandier explique bien pourquoi Cyrano, vaincu magnifique, sauvé par son verbe, plein de noblesse morale, de fierté, d’humour, touche les Français de l’époque. Au point qu’on vend des pipes, des biscuits et des pommades à l’effigie de Cyrano. Rostand devient une sorte de poète officiel. Les femmes tombent à ses pieds.

Mais les photos de lui tout sourire que publie la presse sont trompeuses. En fait, Rostand est un torturé et un incompris. Voilà pourquoi Taillandier l’aime. Le public croit par exemple que sa pièce de théâtre sur l’Aiglon exalte la gloire impériale alors que c’est l’histoire d’un jeune homme velléitaire, écrasé par la stature du père, qui se saborde. Il l’écrira lui-même, dans l’épigraphe de la pièce éditée en livre: «Et ceci n’est pas autre chose/Que l’histoire d’un pauvre enfant.»

Edmond Rostand, l'homme qui voulait bien faire, de François Taillandier : plaidoirie pour un incompris
– Crédits photo : L’Observatoire

On y est. Au fond, Rostand est un grand enfant fébrile qui veut trop bien faire. Il prend les choses tellement au sérieux qu’il s’en rend malade. Un idéaliste. Il multiplie les conquêtes qui le rassurent, négligeant son épouse toute dévouée sans laquelle il ne serait peut-être jamais venu au bout de l’écriture de Cyrano. Mais il aspire à autre chose. «C’est pour le Ciel que les grandes amours travaillent», écrit-il.

Raison, péroraison. Taillandier rythme son récit en alternant les points de vue. Interpelle son sujet. Met en scène l’époque dans des tableaux saisissants. Scrute l’œuvre de Rostand et en dévoile les beautés cachées. On a envie de lire La Samaritaine, inspiré par l’épisode évangélique. Et La Dernière Nuit de Don Juan, l’histoire d’un homme qui voulait tout posséder mais n’a rien connu, rien aimé, rien créé, «un des plus beaux Don Juan jamais écrit après Molière, après Mozart».

La fin approche. Pendant la guerre, avant de mourir en 1918, Rostand met sa plume au service de sa patrie mais ne s’interroge pas sur l’absurde boucherie des tranchées. Cette absence de vision et d’esprit critique déçoit Taillandier. Il semble prêt à le lâcher. Mais dans une ultime envolée, convoquant Aragon qui, en 1940, reviendra à l’alexandrin pour parler à tous les Français, il sauve le maître qu’il a tant aimé. On applaudit.

«Edmond Rostand, l’homme qui voulait bien faire», de François Taillandier, Éd. de l’Observatoire, 231 p., 19 €.

 

 

Source:© Edmond Rostand, l’homme qui voulait bien faire, de François Taillandier : plaidoirie pour un incompris

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais