EDITORIAL OF THE WEEK

Home"TO THE ONE"EDITORIAL OF THE WEEK
7 Partages
JOE MACCARTHY

The New Maccarthy has arrived ...

The McCarthy witch hunt of the 1950s is considered, among all thinking people, as one of the most shameful episodes in American history. The term "McCarthyism" is synonymous with false allegations, intimidation and defamation to serve the most reactionary political goals.

Now, seven decades later, a new period of political witch hunt has begun, led by the Democratic Party and related media agencies, the New York Times and the Washington Post. Support for the government and the Trump administration is now associated with treason.

The famous formula of the marths, "Are you now or have you ever been a member of the Communist Party?", is being put back and reviewed: "Are you or have you ever been a supporter of the current US government?" and more particularly "Are you or have you already been a supporter of Trump?". If the answer is "yes", it means that you are a racist, a fascist, a stooge, if not an agent of Russia and its almost demonic ruler, Vladimir Putin.

Associated with the allegations of "false news" and "conspiracy theories", the new McCarthyism is itself one of the greatest conspiracies of false news generated to date.

He began with claims that Hillary Clinton's defeat in the 2016 presidential election was due to the intervention of the Russian government. These accusations, which have been constantly brought forward since the elections, have entered a new phase, where articles appear almost daily in the Times and the Post to seek to attribute the political and social opposition within the United States to infamous operations of Vladimir Putin.

The appointment of the special prosecutor "Muller" is directly related to this accusation and relies on possible contacts between the members of the Trump campaign and the Russians while the fact that Barak Obama has openly and strongly interfered in the French or Israeli election or the Brexit referendum was never a problem! Worse, the discovery of wiretaps of Western leaders, allies of the US, by Barak Obama was quickly stifled!

In addition, to the best of our knowledge, the United States is not in a state of war with Russia, so even if such contacts had occurred, we do not see where the problem would be!

To crown it all, we realize that Trump was spied on by the FBI members, on the orders of the White House, even though he was only a candidate for the Republican primary.

Just like the accusations of Russian "hacking" emails from the Democratic Party, none of this is supported by any evidence. Hence the vigorous demands by the political agents that the social media companies produce material supposed to document the wildest claims and the most spectacular allegations.

Moreover, if such piracy could have taken place, whose fault? To those who try to find out (as most countries do) or to those who have failed to protect confidential data?

In this new witch hunt, the role of the Democratic leaders who manipulated Robert Mueller's mission to demonize the Trump administration and undermine the government's action is paramount.

The role Joe McCarthy is played here by several actors:

  • by Senator Mark Warner of Virginia, the richest man in the Senate and the most important Democrat on the Senate Intelligence Committee. In the midst of a deluge of media propaganda, Warner is wringing the arms of IT executives so they stand behind the Internet censorship campaign whose latest "submitted" or "converted" has been the CEO from Facebook, Mark Zuckerberg, who was forced to apologize contritely: "I commented that the idea that misinformation on Facebook could have changed the outcome of the elections was a crazy idea. To call it crazy was condescending and I regret it. " After Warner's visit, Facebook produced a list of 3,000 accounts, which the company says they bought for $ 100,000 worth of ads to "sow division" during the election. Even if one came to assume that claims about Russian purchases of advertising were well founded, the very idea that a hundred thousand dollars could have changed the course of the elections in favor of Trump would be laughable if the implications of these baseless accusations were not so serious.
  • by Nancy Pelosi, Member of the House of Representatives of California
  • by the Attorney General of New York, Barbara Underwood, who has just succeeded Eric Schneiderman who has just resigned following a review for sexual assault (the very one who insulted Trump for his misogynistic remarks!). These two prosecutors decided to sue Trump for the management of his foundation while these same prosecutors (both Democrats and fierce activists) have always refused to open information about the Clinton Foundation when it is accused of particularly serious facts !
  • by Maxine Waters, Democratic Representative of California, who dared to ask the Americans to harass or even attack Trump supporters wherever they might be: cafes, restaurants, theaters, concerts, ....

Actions, like those of Maxine Waters, threaten the very meaning of democracy. Indeed, democracy does not consist in accepting the only alternation that would bring to power a governance, albeit an alternative one, but one that would make the same policy but accept alternation to make a totally different policy and accept the takeover by people with whom we do not share anything!

Any other position leads to civil war!

The new McCarthyism represents a huge threat to our democracies because, in this political paradigm, fundamental democratic rights are under attack and fundamental freedoms are threatened.

It is therefore necessary to keep watch, to oppose the drift represented by this campaign of aggressive denigration and to return to the respect of the ballot boxes.

Similar excesses are ongoing internationally and especially on the European continent. European governments are now seeking to impose severe restrictions on the way the Internet and social networks operate in order to "ban Fake News".

We must be very careful in this area because the European soul is revolutionary! Do not light the wick!

(Inspired by an article published in English on September 29, 2017)

Richard C. ABITBOL
President

7 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

ÉDITORIAL DE LA SEMAINE

Home»A LA UNE»ÉDITORIAL DE LA SEMAINE
ÉDITORIAL DE LA SEMAINE
JOE MACCARTHY

Le Nouveau Maccarthisme est arrivé…

La chasse aux sorcières maccarthyste des années 1950 est considérée, parmi tous les gens capables de réflexion, comme l’un des épisodes les plus honteux de l’histoire des États-Unis. Le terme «maccarthysme» est synonyme de fausses allégations, d’intimidation et de diffamation pour servir les objectifs politiques les plus réactionnaires.

Maintenant, sept décennies plus tard, une nouvelle période de chasse aux sorcières politiques a commencé, menée par le Parti démocrate et les agences de médias qui lui sont liées, le New York Times et le Washington Post. Le soutien au gouvernement et à l’administration Trump est désormais associé à la trahison.

La formule célèbre des maccarthystes, «Êtes vous actuellement ou avez-vous déjà été membre du parti communiste?», est en train d’être remise de l’avant et revue: «Êtes-vous ou avez-vous déjà été un soutien de l’actuel gouvernement des États-Unis?» et plus particulièrement «Êtes-vous ou avez-vous déjà été un soutien de Trump ?». Si la réponse est «oui», cela revient à dire que vous êtes un raciste, un fasciste, un larbin, sinon un agent de la Russie et de son dirigeant quasi démoniaque, Vladimir Poutine.

Associé avec les allégations de «fausses nouvelles» et de «théories conspirationnistes», le nouveau maccarthysme est lui-même l’une des plus grandes conspirations de fausses nouvelles engendrées à ce jour.

Il a commencé avec les affirmations voulant que la défaite d’Hillary Clinton aux élections présidentielles de 2016 soit due à l’intervention du gouvernement russe. Ces accusations, qui ont été avancées sans arrêt depuis les élections, sont entrées dans une nouvelle phase, où des articles paraissent presque quotidiennement dans le Times et le Post pour chercher à attribuer l’opposition politique et sociale au sein des États-Unis à des opérations infâmes de Vladimir Poutine.

La nomination du procureur spécial «Muller» est directement liée à cette accusation et s’appuie sur d’éventuels contacts entre les membres de la campagne de Trump et les Russes alors que le fait que Barak Obama se soit ouvertement et fortement immiscé dans l’élection française, israélienne ou lors du référendum sur le Brexit n’a jamais posé problème ! Pire, la découverte des écoutes téléphoniques des dirigeants occidentaux, alliés des USA, par Barak Obama a vite été étouffée !

En outre, à notre connaissance les États-Unis ne sont pas en état de guerre avec la Russie et donc, même si de tels contacts avaient eu lieu, on ne voit pas où serait le problème !

Comble du comble, on s’aperçoit que Trump a été espionné par les membres du FBI, sur ordre de la Maison Blanche, alors même qu’il n’était que candidat à la primaire républicaine .

Tout comme les accusations de «piratage» russe des courriels du Parti démocrate, rien de tout cela n’est appuyé par la moindre preuve. D’où les demandes vigoureuses par les agents politiques que les compagnies de réseaux sociaux produisent du matériel censé documenter les affirmations les plus folles et les allégations les plus spectaculaires.

De plus, si de tels piratages ont pu avoir lieu, à qui la faute ? A ceux qui tentent de s’informer (comme le font la plupart des pays) ou à ceux qui ont failli dans la protection de données confidentielles ?

Dans cette nouvelle chasse aux sorcières, le rôle des dirigeants démocrates qui ont instrumentalisé la mission de Robert Mueller aux fins de diaboliser l’administration Trump et miner l’action de ce gouvernement est primordiale.

Le rôle Joe McCarthy est joué ici par plusieurs acteurs:

  • par le sénateur Mark Warner de Virginia, l’homme le plus riche du sénat et le démocrate le plus important au sein du Comité sénatorial du renseignement. Au milieu d’un déluge de propagande médiatique, Warner est en train de tordre le bras des dirigeants des sociétés informatiques afin que ceux-ci se rangent derrière la campagne pour censurer internet dont le dernier «soumis» ou «converti» a été le PDG de Facebook, Mark Zuckerberg, qui a été obligé de présenter des excuses contrites : «j’ai fait le commentaire comme quoi l’idée que la désinformation sur Facebook a pu changer le résultat des élections était une idée folle. Appeler cela fou était condescendant et je le regrette». Après la visite de Warner, Facebook a produit une liste de 3000 comptes, dont la compagnie affirme qu’ils ont acheté pour 100.000$ de publicités dans le but de «semer la division» durant les élections. Même si on en venait à présumer que les affirmations à propos des achats russes de publicités étaient fondées, l’idée même qu’une centaine de milliers de dollars ait pu changer le cours des élections en faveur de Trump serait risible, si les implications de ces accusations sans fondement n’étaient pas aussi graves.
  • par Nancy Pelosi, membre de la chambre des représentants de Californie
  • par la procureure générale de New-York, Barbara Underwood, qui vient de succéder à Eric Schneiderman qui vient de démissionner suite à une mise-en-examen pour agression sexuelle (celui-là même qui insultait Trump pour ses propos misogynes !). Ces deux procureurs ont décidé de poursuivre Trump pour la gestion de sa fondation alors que ces mêmes procureurs ( tous deux démocrates et farouches militants) se sont toujours refusés à ouvrir une information sur la Fondation Clinton alors que celle-ci est accusée de faits particulièrement graves !
  • par Maxine Waters, représentante démocrate de Californie, qui a osé demander aux américains de harceler, voire d’agresser, les supporters de Trump partout où ils se trouveraient: cafés, restaurants, théâtres, concerts,….

Les actions, comme celles de Maxine Waters, menacent le sens même  de la démocratie. En effet, la démocratie ne consiste pas à accepter la seule alternance qui porterait au pouvoir une gouvernance, certes alternative,  mais qui ferait la même politique mais accepter une alternance pour faire une politique totalement différente et accepter la prise de pouvoir par des personnes avec qui on ne partage rien !

Toute autre position mène à la guerre civile !

Le nouveau maccarthysme représente une immense menace pour nos démocraties car, dans ce paradigme politique, les droits démocratiques fondamentaux sont attaqués et les libertés fondamentales menacées.

Il faut donc raison garder, s’opposer à la dérive que représente cette campagne de dénigrement agressive et revenir au respect des urnes.

Des dérives similaires sont en cours internationalement et notamment sur le continent européen. Les gouvernements européens cherchent, aujourd’hui,  à mettre en place de sévères restrictions au fonctionnement d’Internet et des réseaux sociaux afin «d’interdire les Fake News».

Il faut être très prudent dans ce domaine car l’âme européenne est révolutionnaire! N’allumons pas la mèche !

(Inspiré par un Article paru en anglais le 29 septembre 2017)

Richard C. ABITBOL
Président

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais