Donald Trump gets the end of the "shutdown"

Home"TO THE ONE"Donald Trump gets the end of the "shutdown"
9 Partages
In exchange for a debate on immigration, more than half of the Democratic senators have joined the Republican majority (here on Capitol Hill in Washington). The agreement provides for a budget reprieve until 8 February. - Photo credits: MARK WILSON / AFP

VIDEO - A precarious agreement has been reached in the US Senate to allow funding the federal state for less than three weeks.

The Democrats have lowered their guard first. In a mid-day vote in the Senate, more than half of opposition representatives joined the Republican majority to end the shutdown of the federal government. They just made a promise Mitch McConnell, Speaker of the House of Commons, to quickly convene an "open" debate on immigration. In return, they agreed to fund the Administration for less than three weeks until February 8th.

This precarious agreement augurs new tensions in the near future. But it nonetheless marks a victory for Donald Trump and his Republican majority, who played the card of firmness by refusing to discuss an immigration reform under the pressure of blackmail on the budget. Entered on Monday in his third day - the first one worked -, the shutdown threatened to gradually affect 800,000 civil servants deemed "non-essential" (outside the military and security services in the broad sense).

In 2013, the last episode of the genre lasted sixteen days. At the time Republicans had taken the federal budget hostage in an effort to dismantle Obamacare health insurance. The maneuver had failed. So simple real estate developer, Donald Trump had seen evidence of "total dysfunction of Washington" and "lack of leadership" Barack Obama.

This time, the Democrats used budget blackmail to maintain a provision that protects some 788,000 undocumented migrants who arrived in the United States from eviction. This program, known by its initials DACA, was introduced by an Obama decree in 2012. Trump canceled it last September, leaving Congress until March 5 to legalize the fate of Dreamers, as we calls these young migrants.

The won bet of the Republicans

Elected officials, including in the Republican ranks, declare themselves to be mostly in favor, reflecting the opinion of 74% of Americans, according to a Pew Research Center survey. But the radical Tea Party trend and pro-Trump activists are hostile to it. Swaying between his personal inclination and the desire to please his base, the president went from a willingness to compromise compromise to a sharp hardening of tone, blurring the message on what he really wanted. "His refusal to negotiate a compromise has caused this shutdown," said Monday the leader of the Democratic minority Chuck Schumer.

Friday, around a lunch of cheeseburgers at the White House, Trump and Schumer seemed to have agreed on the outline of a compromise, the president even getting funds for its wall on the Mexican border in exchange for concessions on the DACA. In the process, several of his advisors, including his chief of staff John Kelly and political director Stephen Miller, supported by House Majority Leader Paul Ryan, made him more intransigent on a subject that excites his followers. These reversals undermined the Democrats 'confidence in the Republicans' promise to help the Dreamers.

Trump has refrained from intervening in the negotiations, despite his temptation to appear as a "dealmaker".

Since the start of the shutdown, each side was engaged in a tactical game. On the advice of his entourage, Trump has refrained from intervening in the negotiations, despite his temptation to appear as a "dealmaker". He contented himself with a few bursts of tweets accusing Democrats of preferring illegal immigrants to US citizens and military. The White House telephone switch announced that it could not take calls because "Democrats are holding government funding - including our troops and other national security priorities - hostage because of an unrelated debate. , on immigration ".

The President spent the weekend at the White House as a caged lion, deprived of a glittering evening in Mar-a-Lago, his Florida residence, for the first anniversary of his taking office, reduced to follow on television the Congress's cumbersome efforts to break the stalemate. "By remaining behind, he emphasizes the incompetence of elected officials. The more he appears in public, the more it becomes his problem, "said Republican strategist John Feehery in the Washington Post.

On Capitol Hill, the two parties stood high. In a situation of inferiority, the Democrats used one of the only levers at their disposal against the executive and legislative powers controlled by the Republicans. Polls attributed more shutdown to the latter (41% vs. 36%). But the majority won their bet of camping on a position of firmness. Eight Democratic senators are putting their mandates at stake next November in states won by Trump last year.


 

Source: ©  Donald Trump gets the end of the "shutdown"

9 Partages

One Response to "Donald Trump obtient la fin du «shutdown»"

  1. Albert Zouari
    Albert Zouari   23 January 2018 at 2 h 03 min

    The Democrats of the Sennse Sennse their goal before the country shame on them

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Donald Trump obtient la fin du «shutdown»

Home»A LA UNE»Donald Trump obtient la fin du «shutdown»
Donald Trump obtient la fin du «shutdown»
En échange d’un débat sur l’immigration, plus de la moitié des sénateurs démocrates ont rejoint la majorité républicaine (ici au Capitole à Washington). L’accord prévoit un sursis budgétaire jusqu’au 8 février. – Crédits photo : MARK WILSON/AFP

VIDÉO – Un accord précaire a été trouvé au Sénat américain pour permettre de financer l’État fédéral pour moins de trois semaines.

Les démocrates ont baissé la garde les premiers. Lors d’un vote au Sénat lundi en milieu de journée, plus de la moitié des représentants de l’opposition ont rejoint la majorité républicaine pour mettre fin au shutdown (fermeture) du gouvernement fédéral. Ils se sont contentés d’une promesse de Mitch McConnell, chef de la majorité à la Chambre haute, d’organiser rapidement un débat «ouvert» sur l’immigration. En échange, ils ont accepté de financer l’Administration pour moins de trois semaines, jusqu’au 8 février.

Cet accord précaire augure de nouvelles tensions dans un proche avenir. Mais il n’en marque pas moins une victoire pour Donald Trump et sa majorité républicaine, qui ont joué la carte de la fermeté en refusant de discuter d’une réforme de l’immigration sous la pression d’un chantage sur le budget. Entré lundi dans son troisième jour – le premier ouvré -, le shutdown menaçait d’affecter progressivement 800.000 fonctionnaires jugés «non essentiels» (hors armée et services de sécurité au sens large).

En 2013, le dernier épisode du genre avait duré seize jours. À l’époque les républicains avaient pris le budget fédéral en otage dans un effort pour démanteler l’assurance-maladie Obamacare. La manœuvre avait échoué. Alors simple promoteur immobilier, Donald Trump y avait vu la preuve du «dysfonctionnement total de Washington» et de «l’absence de leadership» de Barack Obama.

Cette fois, les démocrates ont utilisé le chantage budgétaire pour obtenir le maintien d’une disposition qui protège de l’expulsion quelque 788.000 sans-papiers arrivés mineurs aux États-Unis. Ce programme, connu sous ses initiales DACA, avait été instauré par un décret d’Obama en 2012. Trump l’a annulé en septembre dernier, laissant au Congrès jusqu’au 5 mars pour légaliser le sort des Dreamers (rêveurs), comme on appelle ces jeunes migrants.

Le pari gagné des républicains

Les élus, y compris dans les rangs républicains, s’y déclarent comme lui majoritairement favorables, reflétant l’opinion de 74 % des Américains, selon une enquête du Pew Research Center. Mais le courant radical du Tea Party et les militants pro-Trump y sont hostiles. Balançant entre son inclination personnelle et le souci de plaire à sa base, le président est passé d’une volonté affichée de compromis à un net durcissement de ton, brouillant le message sur ce qu’il voulait vraiment. «Son refus de négocier un compromis a provoqué ce shutdown», a accusé lundi le chef de la minorité démocrate Chuck Schumer.

Vendredi, autour d’un déjeuner de cheeseburgers à la Maison-Blanche, Trump et Schumer semblaient être tombés d’accord sur les grandes lignes d’un compromis, le président obtenant même des fonds pour son mur sur la frontière mexicaine en échange de concessions sur le DACA. Dans la foulée, plusieurs de ses conseillers, dont son chef de cabinet John Kelly et le directeur politique Stephen Miller, appuyés par le chef de la majorité à la Chambre, Paul Ryan, l’ont incité à plus d’intransigeance sur un sujet qui excite ses partisans. Ces revirements ont entamé la confiance qu’avaient les démocrates dans la promesse des républicains de venir en aide aux Dreamers.

Trump s’est retenu d’intervenir dans la négociation, malgré sa tentation d’apparaître comme «faiseur de deals».

Depuis l’amorce du shutdown, chaque camp était engagé dans un jeu tactique. Sur le conseil de son entourage, Trump s’est retenu d’intervenir dans la négociation, malgré sa tentation d’apparaître comme «faiseur de deals». Il s’est contenté de quelques salves de tweets accusant les démocrates de préférer les immigrés illégaux aux citoyens et militaires américains. Le standard téléphonique de la Maison-Blanche annonçait ne pouvoir prendre d’appels parce que «les démocrates retiennent en otage le financement du gouvernement – y compris de nos troupes et d’autres priorités de sécurité nationale – en raison d’un débat sans rapport, sur l’immigration».

Le président a passé le week-end à la Maison-Blanche comme un lion en cage, privé d’une soirée scintillante à Mar-a-Lago, sa résidence de Floride, pour le premier anniversaire de sa prise de fonction, réduit à suivre à la télévision les efforts poussifs du Congrès pour sortir de l’impasse. «En restant en retrait, il souligne l’incompétence des élus. Plus il apparaît en public, plus cela devient son problème», expliquait le stratège républicain John Feehery dans le Washington Post.

Sur la colline du Capitole, les deux partis se tenaient la dragée haute. En situation d’infériorité, les démocrates utilisaient l’un des seuls leviers à leur disposition face aux pouvoirs exécutif et législatif contrôlés par les républicains. Des sondages imputaient davantage le shutdown à ces derniers (41 % contre 36 %). Mais la majorité a gagné son pari de camper sur une position de fermeté. Huit sénateurs démocrates remettent leur mandat en jeu en novembre prochain dans des États remportés par Trump l’an dernier.


 

Source:©  Donald Trump obtient la fin du «shutdown»

One Response to "Donald Trump obtient la fin du «shutdown»"

  1. Albert Zouari
    Albert Zouari   23 janvier 2018 at 2 h 03 min

    Les démocrates des’ulsrié de sennse leur but avant le pays honte à eux

    Répondre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais