Churchill, Warlord: Episode 1 of our audio series on The Dark Hours

Home"Anciens1"Churchill, Warlord: Episode 1 of our audio series on The Dark Hours
2 Partages
Excerpt from the movie "The Dark Hours", by Joe Wright (2017). - Photo credits: Universal Pictures International France

AUDIO - As part of our partnership with Joe Wright's movie, theatrically on Jan. 3, Le Figaro proposes an audio series in collaboration with Création-Collective. This first of the eight parts is held in May 1940, when the appointment to the post of prime minister of a man who would make history.

The voice we hear is that of General Hastings Ismay, the deputy director of Winston Churchill's cabinet. Throughout the Second World War, this soldier followed the British Prime Minister. It served as a relay between the staff and the executive for all strategic decisions.

On May 8, 1940, England and France were at war with Germany for eight months. But we are talking about a "strange war" since, in fact, very few fights occur.

Une du «Daily Mirror» lors de la nomination de Churchill comme ministre de la Marine (1939).
One of the "Daily Mirror" when Churchill was appointed Minister of the Navy (1939). - Photo Credits: Rue des Archives / Mary Evans / Rue des Archives

Winston Churchill is then minister of the Navy and carries the title "so british" of "First Lord of the Admiralty". He scrapes in the House of Commons about the Narvik operations that unite French and English against the Third Reich for the defense of attacked Norway. But the minister's plan is disputed because it does not produce the desired effects. The Germans will eventually stay in Narvik until 1945. Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain, Negotiator infamous "Munich agreements", concentrates all the attacks on the chamber, whether they come from the Labor opposition as from the ranks of the conservative majority.

But Churchill is not in the odor of sanctity among parliamentarians either. His liabilities during the battle of the Dardanellesduring the First World War continues to pursue it.

As early as 1915, Winston was his Majesty's First Lord of the Admiralty. And it is blamed for the loss of 50,000 British soldiers, all dead at Gallipoli. At the time, his tactical choices were strongly criticized, especially by the Conservatives demanding his resignation. When he spoke in the House of Commons in May 1940, everyone remembered this strategic mistake.

 

 

Winston Churchill prononçant un discours à la BBC le 14 mai 1943.
Winston Churchill giving a speech at the BBC on May 14, 1943. - Photo Credits: Rue des Archives / MEPL / Rue des Archives

In the bedroom, David Lloyd George speaks. He is 77 years old and will die at the end of the war in 1945. Everybody listens to him because he was prime minister between 1908 and 1915, in the midst of international disaster. The old parliamentarian is publicly questioning the preparations for the Battle of Narvik. He solemnly requests the resignation of Chamberlain. It will run two days later, May 10.

To replace him, everyone is well aware that it takes a real warlord capable of raising the crowds and lead the country to victory against the murderous and liberticidal ideology of National Socialism. The choice is quickly made on Winston Churchill who, despite some reluctance, receives many praises for him. At age 65, he becomes for the first time prime minister of a United Kingdom in a storm.

»READ ALSO - Churchill, in the service of his majesty: episode 2 of our series on The dark hours

 

AUDIO SERIES CREDITS

1940, Winston becomes Churchill, an audio fiction in partnership with Le Figaro. A Collective Creation and Binge Audio production for Universal Pictures. With the voice of Paul Bandey and Adelaide Bon. Author: Alexandre Lenot. Director, original music and mixing: Théo Boulenger. Art Director: Julien Cernobori


 

 

Source: Churchill, Warlord: Episode 1 of our audio series on The Dark Hours

2 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Churchill, seigneur de la guerre : épisode 1 de notre série audio sur Les Heures sombres

Home»Anciens1»Churchill, seigneur de la guerre : épisode 1 de notre série audio sur Les Heures sombres
Churchill, seigneur de la guerre : épisode 1 de notre série audio sur Les Heures sombres
Extrait du film «Les Heures sombres», de Joe Wright (2017). – Crédits photo : Universal Pictures International France

AUDIO – Dans le cadre de notre partenariat avec le film de Joe Wright, en salle le 3 janvier, Le Figaro vous propose une série audio en collaboration avec Création-Collective. Ce premier des huit volets se tient en mai 1940, lors de la nomination au poste de premier ministre d’un homme qui allait marquer l’histoire.

La voix que l’on entend est celle du général Hastings Ismay, le directeur adjoint du cabinet de Winston Churchill. Durant toute la Seconde Guerre mondiale, ce militaire a suivi le premier ministre britannique. Il servait notamment de relais entre l’état-major et l’exécutif pour toutes les décisions stratégiques.

Le 8 mai 1940, l’Angleterre et la France sont en guerre contre l’Allemagne depuis huit mois. Mais on parle alors d’une «drôle de guerre» puisque, dans les faits, très peu de combats surviennent.

Une du «Daily Mirror» lors de la nomination de Churchill comme ministre de la Marine (1939).
Une du «Daily Mirror» lors de la nomination de Churchill comme ministre de la Marine (1939). – Crédits photo : Rue des Archives/Mary Evans/Rue des Archives

Winston Churchill est alors ministre de la Marine et porte le titre «so british» de «First Lord of the Admiralty». Il ferraille à la Chambre des communes à propos des opérations de Narvik qui unissent Français et Anglais contre le IIIe Reich pour la défense de la Norvège attaquée. Mais le plan du ministre est contesté car il ne produit pas les effets escomptés. Les Allemands resteront finalement à Narvik jusqu’en 1945. Le premier ministre Neville Chamberlain, négociateur des tristement célèbres «accords de Munich», concentre toutes les attaques à la chambre, qu’elles proviennent de l’opposition travailliste comme des rangs de la majorité conservatrice.

Mais Churchill n’est pas non plus en odeur de sainteté chez les parlementaires. Son passif lors de la bataille des Dardanelles, pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, continue de le poursuivre.

En 1915 déjà, Winston était le «First Lord of the Admiralty» de sa majesté. Et on lui reproche la perte de 50.000 soldats britanniques, tous morts à Gallipoli. À l’époque, ses choix tactiques sont vivement critiqués, notamment par les conservateurs qui exigent sa démission. Lorsqu’il prend la parole à la Chambre des Communes en mai 1940, tout le monde a en mémoire cette erreur stratégique.

 

 

Winston Churchill prononçant un discours à la BBC le 14 mai 1943.
Winston Churchill prononçant un discours à la BBC le 14 mai 1943. – Crédits photo : Rue des Archives/MEPL/Rue des Archives

Dans la chambre, David Lloyd George prend la parole. Il est âgé de 77 ans et mourra au sortir de la guerre en 1945. Tout le monde l’écoute car il fut premier ministre entre 1908 et 1915, en pleine période de désastre international. Le vieux parlementaire s’interroge publiquement sur les préparatifs à la bataille de Narvik. Il demande solennellement la démission de Chamberlain. Celui-ci s’exécutera deux jours plus tard, le 10 mai.

Pour le remplacer, tout le monde a bien conscience qu’il faut un véritable chef de guerre capable de soulever les foules et de conduire le pays jusqu’à la victoire contre l’idéologie meurtrière et liberticide du national-socialisme. Le choix se porte vite sur Winston Churchill qui, malgré quelques réticences, récolte de nombreux éloges à son sujet. À 65 ans, il devient pour la première fois premier ministre d’un Royaume-Uni en pleine tempête.

» LIRE AUSSI – Churchill, au service de sa majesté: épisode 2 de notre série sur Les Heures sombres

 

CRÉDITS SÉRIE AUDIO

1940, Winston devient Churchill, une fiction audio en partenariat avec Le Figaro. Une production Création Collective et Binge Audio pour Universal Pictures. Avec la voix de Paul Bandey et Adélaïde Bon. Auteur: Alexandre Lenot. Réalisation, musique originale et mixage: Théo Boulenger. Directeur artistique: Julien Cernobori


 

 

Source: Churchill, seigneur de la guerre : épisode 1 de notre série audio sur Les Heures sombres

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais