Churchill, Black Dog: Episode 5 of our Dark Hours series

Home"Anciens1"Churchill, Black Dog: Episode 5 of our Dark Hours series
3 Partages

AUDIO - As part of our partnership with Joe Wright's movie, theatrically on Jan. 3, Le Figaro proposes an audio series in collaboration with Création-Collective. This fifth of the six parts tells the day of June 12, 1940. A moment of near-despair for Winston Churchill.

The battle of Dunkirk is finally completed. The entire British and Allied contingent is now out of danger. Since the 10th of June 1940, the French government has taken refuge in Tours and, on the 14th of June, it will be the beginning of the German occupation of Paris. Paul Reynaud is still, for a short time, the President of the Council of the French Republic. It will be quickly replaced by Marshal Pétain who will hasten to sign the armistice with the enemy on June 22nd.

Churchill inspectant un corps de Gardes-côte (1940).
Churchill inspecting a Coast Guard Corps (1940). - Photo credits: Scherl / © Suddeutsche Zeitung / Rue des ArChurchill inspecting a Guards-coast corps (1940). - Photo credits: Scherl / © Suddeutsche Zeitung / Rue des Archives

On June 12, 1940, Winston Churchill receives a call from Paul Reynaud who wishes to talk with him. The Old Lion rides in the first plane. The Dunkirk disaster left a bitter taste to the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom. The successive advances of Hitler and his army discourage him. He even lets himself, contrary to a tenacious legend, go to the wave to the soul. He declares, pessimistically, to his deputy director Hastings Ismay: "You and I will be dead within three months." This psychological inclination to fatalism, this character trait invariably negative, Winston found him a nickname: his "dog black".

"You and I will be dead within three months."

Winston Churchill at Hastings Ismay

Finally, to find a cure for the current cataclysm, Churchill does not spare his sentence. He literally travels the world. United States, Canada, USSR, his frenzy makes him cross the globe from coast to coast. It saves so little that it will end up making a cardiac arrest in 1941. But at the beginning of summer 1940, these are France's failure to contain the Nazi thrust and the isolationist status quo of America that affect Winston's state of mind.

Une du «Daily Sketch» du 19 juin 1940 qui évoque également le discours, la veille, du général de Gaulle.
One of the "Daily Sketch" of June 19, 1940 which also evokes the speech the day before, General de Gaulle. - Photo Credits: Rue des Archives / Mary Evans / Rue des Archives
One of the "Daily Sketch" of June 19, 1940 which also evokes the speech the day before, General de Gaulle. - Photo Credits: Rue des Archives / Mary Evans / Rue des Archives

He who always seems so combative in front of the audience and the cameras, he who seems so convinced in public of the obviousness of a victory to come, him, Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill, is taken of a deep doubt. He fears that Britain will find itself totally alone confront the German ogre when he crossed the English Channel to pour on the island a torrent of fire and death. He has every reason to be anxious, even if the "Battle of Britain" which begins the following month will end in a failure of the Nazis who will put an end to the sequence of victories which they enjoyed until right here.

 

 

 

 

To be continued in the next episode…

AUDIO SERIES CREDITS

1940, Winston becomes Churchill, an audio fiction in partnership with Le Figaro. A Collective Creation and Binge Audio production for Universal Pictures. With the voice of Paul Bandey and Adelaide Bon. Author: Alexandre Lenot. Director, original music and mixing: Théo Boulenger. Art Director: Julien Cernobori


Source: ©  Churchill, Black Dog: Episode 5 of our Dark Hours series

3 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Churchill, chien noir : épisode 5 de notre série sur Les Heures sombres

Home»Anciens1»Churchill, chien noir : épisode 5 de notre série sur Les Heures sombres

Churchill, chien noir : épisode 5 de notre série sur Les Heures sombres

AUDIO – Dans le cadre de notre partenariat avec le film de Joe Wright, en salle le 3 janvier, Le Figaro vous propose une série audio en collaboration avec Création-Collective. Ce cinquième des six volets raconte la journée du 12 juin 1940. Un moment de quasi-désespoir pour Winston Churchill.

La bataille de Dunkerque est enfin achevée. L’ensemble du contingent britannique et allié se trouve dorénavant hors de danger. Depuis le 10 juin 1940, le gouvernement français est réfugié à Tours et, le 14 juin, ce sera le début de l’occupation allemande de Paris. Paul Reynaud est encore, pour peu de temps, le président du Conseil de la République française. Il sera rapidement remplacé par le maréchal Pétain qui s’empressera de signer l’armistice avec l’ennemi le 22 juin.

Churchill inspectant un corps de Gardes-côte (1940).
Churchill inspectant un corps de Gardes-côte (1940). – Crédits photo : Scherl/© Suddeutsche Zeitung/Rue des ArChurchill inspectant un corps de Gardes-côte (1940). – Crédits photo : Scherl/© Suddeutsche Zeitung/Rue des Archives

En ce 12 juin 1940, Winston Churchill reçoit un appel de Paul Reynaud qui souhaite s’entretenir avec lui. Le Vieux Lion monte dans le premier avion. La catastrophe de Dunkerque a laissé un goût amer au premier ministre du Royaume-Uni. Les avancées successives d’Hitler et de son armée le découragent. Il se laisse même, contrairement à une légende tenace, aller au vague à l’âme. Il déclare, pessimiste, à son directeur adjoint Hastings Ismay: «Vous et moi, nous serons morts d’ici trois mois.» Cette inclination psychologique au fatalisme, ce trait de caractère immanquablement négatif, Winston lui a trouvé un surnom: son «chien noir».

«Vous et moi, nous serons morts d’ici trois mois.»

Winston Churchill à Hastings Ismay

Pour enfin trouver un remède au cataclysme en cours, Churchill ne ménage pas sa peine. Il sillonne littéralement le monde. États-Unis, Canada, URSS, sa frénésie lui fait parcourir le globe terrestre de long en large. Il s’économise si peu qu’il finira par faire un arrêt cardiaque en 1941. Mais en ce début d’été 1940, ce sont l’échec de la France à contenir la poussée nazie et le statu quo isolationniste de l’Amérique qui influent sur l’état d’esprit de Winston.

Une du «Daily Sketch» du 19 juin 1940 qui évoque également le discours, la veille, du général de Gaulle.
Une du «Daily Sketch» du 19 juin 1940 qui évoque également le discours, la veille, du général de Gaulle. – Crédits photo : Rue des Archives/Mary Evans/Rue des Archives
Une du «Daily Sketch» du 19 juin 1940 qui évoque également le discours, la veille, du général de Gaulle. – Crédits photo : Rue des Archives/Mary Evans/Rue des Archives

Lui qui paraît toujours si combatif devant les auditoires et les caméras, lui qui semble si convaincu en public de l’évidence d’une victoire à venir, lui, Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill, est pris d’un doute profond. Il craint que la Grande-Bretagne ne se retrouve totalement seule pour affronter l’ogre germanique quand celui-ci aura traversé la Manche pour déverser sur l’île un torrent de feu et de mort. Il a toutes les raisons du monde d’être inquiet, même si la «Bataille d’Angleterre» qui commencera le mois suivant se soldera par un échec des nazis qui mettra un terme à l’enchaînement de victoires dont ceux-ci jouissaient jusqu’ici.

 

 

 

 

La suite au prochain épisode…

CRÉDITS SÉRIE AUDIO

1940, Winston devient Churchill, une fiction audio en partenariat avec Le Figaro. Une production Création Collective et Binge Audio pour Universal Pictures. Avec la voix de Paul Bandey et Adélaïde Bon. Auteur: Alexandre Lenot. Réalisation, musique originale et mixage: Théo Boulenger. Directeur artistique: Julien Cernobori


Source:©  Churchill, chien noir : épisode 5 de notre série sur Les Heures sombres

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais