Catholics: they did not say their last word

Home"TO THE ONE"Catholics: they did not say their last word
7 Partages
French pilgrims at the World Youth Day in Krakow in 2016. - Photo credits: Jean-Matthieu GAUTIER / CIRIC

FIGAROVOX / READING - The recent works of the political scientist Jerome Fourquet and the philosopher Denis Moreau are especially devoted to them.

Are we witnessing the resurrection of Catholics? On the booksellers' fronts, at least, they are in fashion. This literary parous is all the more striking as the weight of Catholics in the population has collapsed.

On this observation at least, Jérôme Fourquet and Denis Moreau are in unison. The first quantifies this demographic erosion: "While the" messalisants "still constituted a significant minority (35% of the population) in the 1960s, they now weigh a marginal weight (6%) and are today not only very minority, but older, and therefore in decline. "Denis Moreau interprets it with the height of the teacher of philosophy:" At the scale of the long term and in Western Europe, we are still in what Nietzsche called the the time of the "death of God", of its slow and progressive disappearance of consciousness.

« À la droite de Dieu», de Jérôme Fourquet, Cerf, 176 p., 18 €.
"On the Right of God" by Jérôme Fourquet, Cerf, 176 p., 18 €. - Photo credits: p

In At the right hand of God, the political scientist Jérôme Fourquet traces the great return of Catholics to politics and how, from gay marriage to support for Christians in the East through IVG, nurseries in town halls or Islam, Catholics have been able to impose their themes to enthrone François Fillon during the primary. The presidential election crystallized this "right" of a large part of the Catholic electorate: the three of them, Fillon, Dupont-Aignan and Le Pen shared 65% of the votes of practicing Catholics. However, Jérôme Fourquet remains cautious about the existence of a "Catholic vote" that broke like foam on Macron Rock. And the pope, in all this? "He firmly rejected the so-called" moral duty "to preserve the original cultural and religious identity of the European continent," says Jérôme Fourquet, and is now facing a "identity stiffening of minority groups under the effect of inexorable demographic decline and rapid change in their environment. "

»READ ALSO - Were there Catholic, Jewish and Muslim votes?

« Comment peut-on être catholique?», de Denis Moreau, Seuil, 368 p., 22 €.
"How can one be Catholic?" By Denis Moreau, Seuil, 368 p., 22 €. - Photo credits: p

The philosopher Denis Moreau hears it from a different ear: he does not intend to bring his faith to the sepulcher, nor to dissolve it in an ultimate quest for a graal identity as a viaticum. Assuming to have to take on himself the "burden of justification" as others carry their cross, he reads in his contemporaries the same astonishment as in Montesquieu: "Ah! Ah! Monsieur is Persian? "And to titrate, quite logically,How can one be Catholic? The implication is: how can one be a normalist, a philosophy teacher, look smart, and yet believe in the foolishness of another age? Inscribing himself in a long Christian intellectual tradition, apologetics, to which have devoted themselves no less than Augustine or other Pascal, the Cartesian professor does not sign a theological treatise. But he took seriously St. Peter - "You must always be ready to give reason for the hope that is in you" - although, seriously, it is embarrassed only on the substance; as for the form, the injunction of the Petrine Epistle does not prevent him from doing the clown.

"The best thing about paradise is superimposing three models: orgasm, football goal, rock concert

The philosopher Denis Moreau

Because, behind the enumeration of the arguments in favor of the Christian faith, it is the portrait of Denis Moreau which is profiled in the manner of a stained glass window giving to the Light of which it is pierced its own color and its contours. His way of believing, hoping, loving or praying. See, "What I find best for paradise is to superimpose three models: the orgasm, the goal in football, the rock concert."

»READ ALSO - Luc Ferry: "How can one be Catholic?"

In the end, these two authors would perhaps agree that Christianity is substantially incapable of being a true counter-culture. "As a religion of the Incarnation, Christianity takes shape where it is, in its time," Denis Moreau wrote again, between a quote from Motörhead and a reference to Saint Paul. Jerome Fourquet also notes this astonishing permeability of Catholicism, for example in the recourse to modes of political action to which he was not yet accustomed. "This militancy of a new kind has allowed the creation of many collectives, whose methods are borrowing both the tradition of agit-prop, but also to LGBT associations or alterglobalists."

Whether it is to defend their convictions (the cathos of the right) or their faith (Denis Moreau), Catholics can still create surprise. To be where no one is waiting for them Leave it until you find their tomb ... empty.


 

Source: Catholics: they did not say their last word

7 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Catholiques : ils n'ont pas dit leur dernier mot

Home»A LA UNE»Catholiques : ils n’ont pas dit leur dernier mot
Catholiques : ils n'ont pas dit leur dernier mot
Pèlerins français lors des Journées mondiales de la jeunesse à Cracovie en 2016. – Crédits photo : Jean-Matthieu GAUTIER/CIRIC

FIGAROVOX/LECTURE – ­Les récents ouvrages du politologue Jérôme Fourquet et du philosophe Denis Moreau leur sont notamment consacrés.

Assiste-t-on à la résurrection des catholiques? Sur les devantures des libraires, à tout le moins, ils sont à la mode. Cette parousie littéraire est d’autant plus frappante que le poids des catholiques dans la population s’est effondré.

Sur ce constat au moins, Jérôme Fourquet et Denis Moreau sont à l’unisson. Le premier quantifie cette érosion démographique: «Alors que les “messalisants” constituaient encore une minorité conséquente (35 % de la population) dans les années 1960, ils pèsent aujourd’hui un poids marginal (6 %) et sont aujourd’hui non seulement très minoritaires mais de surcroît âgés, et donc en déclin.» Denis Moreau l’interprète avec la hauteur du prof de philo: «À l’échelle de la longue durée et en Europe occidentale, nous sommes encore dans ce que Nietzsche appelait l’époque de la “mort de Dieu”, de sa lente et progressive disparition des consciences.»

« À la droite de Dieu», de Jérôme Fourquet, Cerf, 176 p., 18 €.
« À la droite de Dieu», de Jérôme Fourquet, Cerf, 176 p., 18 €. – Crédits photo : p

Dans À la droite de Dieu, le politologue Jérôme Fourquet retrace le grand retour des catholiques à la politique et comment, du mariage gay au soutien aux chrétiens d’Orient en passant par l’IVG, les crèches dans les mairies ou l’islam, les cathos ont su imposer leurs thèmes jusqu’à introniser François Fillon lors de la primaire. L’élection présidentielle a cristallisé cette «droitisation» d’une bonne part de l’électorat catholique: à eux trois, Fillon, Dupont-Aignan et Le Pen se sont partagé 65 % des voix des catholiques pratiquants. Pour autant, Jérôme Fourquet reste prudent sur l’existence d’un «vote catholique» qui s’est brisé comme l’écume sur le rocher Macron. Et le pape, dans tout ça? «Il a fermement rejeté le soi-disant “devoir moral” de conserver l’identité culturelle et religieuse d’origine du continent européen», avance Jérôme Fourquet, et fait à présent face à un «raidissement identitaire de groupes devenus minoritaires sous l’effet d’un déclin démographique inexorable et d’une modification rapide de leur environnement.»

» LIRE AUSSI – Y a-t-il eu des votes catholique, juif et musulman?

« Comment peut-on être catholique?», de Denis Moreau, Seuil, 368 p., 22 €.
« Comment peut-on être catholique?», de Denis Moreau, Seuil, 368 p., 22 €. – Crédits photo : p

Le philosophe Denis Moreau l’entend d’une tout autre oreille: il ne compte pas porter sa foi au sépulcre, ni la dissoudre dans une ultime quête d’un graal identitaire en guise de viatique. Assumant d’avoir à prendre sur lui la «charge de la justification» comme d’autres portent leur croix, il lit chez ses contemporains le même étonnement que dans Montesquieu: «Ah! Ah! Monsieur est persan?» Et de titrer, tout logiquement,Comment peut-on être catholique? Sous-entendu: comment peut-on être normalien, prof de philo, avoir l’air intelligent et, pourtant, croire à ces sottises d’un autre âge… S’inscrivant dans une longue tradition intellectuelle chrétienne, l’apologétique, à laquelle se sont adonnés pas moins que des Augustin ou autres Pascal, le professeur cartésien ne signe pas pour autant un traité de théologie. Mais il a pris au sérieux saint Pierre – «Vous devez toujours être prêts à rendre raison de l’espérance qui est en vous» – encore que, de sérieux, il ne s’en embarrasse que sur le fond ; pour ce qui est de la forme, l’injonction de l’épître pétrinienne ne l’empêche nullement de faire le pitre.

«Ce que je trouve de mieux pour figurer le paradis, c’est de superposer trois modèles: l’orgasme, le but au football, le concert de rock

Le philosophe Denis Moreau

Car, derrière l’énumération des arguments en faveur de la foi chrétienne, c’est le portrait de Denis Moreau qui se profile à la manière d’un vitrail donnant à la Lumière dont il est transpercé sa couleur propre et ses contours. Sa façon à lui de croire, d’espérer, d’aimer ou de prier. Voyez plutôt: «Ce que je trouve de mieux pour figurer le paradis, c’est de superposer trois modèles: l’orgasme, le but au football, le concert de rock.»

» LIRE AUSSI – Luc Ferry: «Comment peut-on être catholique?»

Au fond, ces deux auteurs s’accorderaient peut-être à reconnaître que le christianisme est substantiellement incapable d’être une véritable contre-culture. «En tant que religion de l’Incarnation, le christianisme prend corps où il est, dans son époque», écrit encore Denis Moreau, entre une citation de Motörhead et une référence à saint Paul. Jérôme Fourquet constate également cette étonnante perméabilité du catholicisme, par exemple dans le recours à des modes d’action politique auxquels il n’était pourtant pas habitué. «Ce militantisme d’un genre nouveau a permis la création de nombreux collectifs, dont les méthodes empruntent à la fois à la tradition de l’agit-prop, mais aussi aux associations LGBT ou altermondialistes.»

Qu’il s’agisse de défendre leurs convictions (les cathos de droite) ou leur foi (Denis Moreau), les catholiques peuvent encore créer la surprise. Être là où personne ne les attend. Quitte à ce que l’on retrouve leur tombeau… vide.


 

Source: Catholiques : ils n’ont pas dit leur dernier mot

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais