Cannes 2018: Saudi Arabia on the Croisette, first!

Home"TO THE ONE"Cannes 2018: Saudi Arabia on the Croisette, first!
10 Partages

Cannes 2018 : l'Arabie saoudite sur la Croisette, première !

After the reopening of cinemas in April in the Wahhabi Kingdom, nine short films will be presented for the first time at the Cannes Film Festival.

For the first time in its history, Saudi Arabia has invited itself to the Cannes Film Festival, and is preparing to present nine short films on May 14 and 15. A small event on the Croisette, the presence of a Saudi cinema council pavilion on the beaches of the Riviera is a real state affair seen from Riyadh. Since the Crown Prince Mohammed Ben Salman presented its plan of economic and social reform, Vision 2030, it is the effervescence in the country of Mecca. The voluntarist train of the opening is running. And everyone wants to climb in there.

After thirty-five years of ban, big screens are back. In April, a hall and a multiplex opened in Riyadh - a bored city, unless you like to spend your life in shopping malls. Located in a financial district, white and gigantic, the new AMC room displays full every day - despite an entry price of 10 euros. Tuesday, May 1, it was planned Avengers, the superhero movie that has exceeded one billion dollars in revenue in just eleven days.

A censorship commission ensures the grain, with a drastic ban system - any public, less than 12, 15 or 18 years old. The sex scenes will obviously be cut

At the entrance, the openers distributed the fourteen behavioral rules to adopt in a dark room: do not speak too loudly, arrive at the beginning of the session, do not film with your cellphone, have an outfit "in accordance with the values ​​of the kingdom" . The women were sitting next to the men, and everyone was picking popcorn in giant buckets. Banal scene, if we ignore the long coats and Islamic headscarves, non-negotiable passport. "These rooms are collective and family spaces, which respond to the Saudis' desire for leisure," summarizes Bader Alzahrani, General Director of Media Development at the General Audiovisual Media Commission (CGMA).

While in some parts of the world, cinemas close one by one, Saudi Arabia has seen wide: AMC and Vox, two US operators, have got their hands on a market of 350 screens and 2500 screens by 2030 , distributed throughout the country, including in the most traditional regions. The offer, we guess, will be "family". A censorship commission, installed in the buildings of the CGMA, ensures the grain, with a system of drastic prohibition - all public, less than 12, 15 or 18 years. The sex scenes will obviously be cut.

Whatever. There are many "mainstream" international films that do not need a chisel. After Black Panther or Avengers will come the turn of Indestructible 2. "We are not new to the image," laughs Sultan Al Mutairi, a producer who works on Saudi television networks. It's been years since the Saudis are watching what they want on YouTube or even Netflix. And we do not even talk about piracy, which is a national sport. "The 350 Saudi cinemas will avoid the better-off to go to Bahrain or Dubai to see the latest outings. And will give air to young people: 65% of the population is under 35 years old. "Eventually, it will also broadcast a local production, hopes, for its part, the director Ali Kalthami. Because the Saudi story has not been told yet. "

"I introduced a bare-headed actress in one of my series, which barely a year ago would have caused a descent of the authorities"

Sultan Al Mutairi, producer

For now, the country's production is limited to a few feature films, and TV programs, including many B series - by Western standards. France nevertheless discovered, in 2012, the first feature film of Haifaa al-Mansour, wadjdawho told the story of a little girl's fight for a bicycle, and through him, that of her mother to be able to drive. The director had to hide in a truck and direct her actors from a distance. She has since settled in Los Angeles, like so many young Saudi artists who have fled a society too corseted. Those who stayed between taboos - besides sex, there can be no question of politics or religion in the movies - and the window of freedom that opened half a year ago. Every short film, advertisement or documentary requires a work of dentelier.

Everyone gropes, tries to protect themselves from censorship, but also possible rejections of the public. "I introduced a bare-headed actress in one of my series, which barely a year ago would have brought down the authorities," said Sultan Al Mutairi. But I go forward counted. It would be counterproductive to fight all the battles at the same time. "Last year, Hind Alfahad filmed the story of street vendors," we see but do not look. " The director spent two months on the sidewalk with one of them, in difficult conditions, passersby not understanding what a woman was doing there, camera in hand. Hind, a multiple award winner in neighboring countries, was the first to use crowdfunding for his next short film on the Indiegogo platform. Success exceeded expectations and federated a community of hope. With Hanna Al Omair, another director who has just been appointed to the Film Council by the authorities and made the trip to Cannes, she is now convinced: "The company will never go back."


 

Source: © Cannes 2018: Saudi Arabia on the Croisette, first!

10 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

Cannes 2018 : l'Arabie saoudite sur la Croisette, première !

Home»A LA UNE»Cannes 2018 : l’Arabie saoudite sur la Croisette, première !

Cannes 2018 : l'Arabie saoudite sur la Croisette, première !

Après la réouverture de salles de cinéma en avril dans le royaume wahhabite, neuf courts-métrages vont être présentés pour la première fois au Festival de Cannes.

Pour la première fois dans son histoire, l’Arabie saoudite s’est invitée au Festival de Cannes, et s’apprête à présenter neuf courts-métrages, les 14 et 15 mai. Petit événement sur la Croisette, la présence d’un pavillon du Conseil du cinéma saoudien sur les plages de la Riviera est une véritable affaire d’État vue de Riyad. Depuis que le prince héritier Mohammed Ben Salman a présenté son plan de réforme économique et sociale, Vision 2030, c’est l’effervescence au pays de La Mecque. Le train volontariste de l’ouverture est en marche. Et tout le monde veut grimper dedans.

Après trente-cinq ans d’interdiction, les grands écrans font leur retour. En avril, une salle et un multiplexe ont ouvert à Riyad – ville dans laquelle on s’ennuie ferme, à moins d’aimer passer sa vie dans les centres commerciaux. Située dans un quartier financier, blanche et gigantesque, la nouvelle salle AMC affiche complet tous les jours – en dépit d’un prix d’entrée à 10 euros. Mardi 1er mai, on y projetait Avengers, le film de superhéros qui a dépassé le milliard de dollars de recettes en seulement onze jours.

Une commission de censure veille au grain, avec un système d’interdiction drastique - tout public, moins de 12, 15 ou 18 ans. Les scènes de sexe seront évidemment coupées

À l’entrée, les ouvreurs distribuaient les quatorze règles comportementales à adopter dans une salle obscure: ne pas parler trop fort, arriver en début de séance, ne pas filmer avec son portable, avoir une tenue «en accord avec les valeurs du royaume». Les femmes étaient assises à côté des hommes, et tout le monde piochait du pop-corn dans des seaux géants. Scène banale, si l’on fait abstraction des longs manteaux et des foulards islamiques, passeport non négociable. «Ces salles sont des espaces collectifs et familiaux, qui répondent à l’appétence des Saoudiens pour les loisirs», résume Bader Alzahrani, directeur général du développement des médias à la Commission générale des médias audiovisuels (CGMA).

Alors que, dans certains endroits du monde, les cinémas ferment un à un, l’Arabie saoudite a vu large: AMC et Vox, deux exploitants américains, ont mis la main sur un marché de 350 salles et 2500 écrans d’ici à 2030, répartis dans tout le pays, y compris dans les régions les plus traditionnelles. L’offre, on le devine, sera «familiale». Une commission de censure, installée dans les bâtiments de la CGMA, veille au grain, avec un système d’interdiction drastique – tout public, moins de 12, 15 ou 18 ans. Les scènes de sexe seront évidemment coupées.

Qu’importe. Il se trouve quantité de films internationaux «mainstream» n’ayant pas besoin d’un coup de ciseau. Après Black Panther ou Avengers viendra le tour des Indestructibles 2. «Nous ne sommes tout de même pas des débutants face à l’image, rit Sultan Al Mutairi, un producteur qui œuvre sur les réseaux de la télévision saoudienne. Cela fait des années que les Saoudiens regardent ce qu’ils veulent sur YouTube ou même Netflix. Et on ne parle même pas du piratage, qui est un sport national.» Les 350 salles saoudiennes éviteront aux plus aisés de se rendre au Bahreïn ou à Dubaï pour voir les dernières sorties. Et donneront de l’air aux jeunes: 65 % de la population a moins de 35 ans. «À terme, elle permettront aussi de diffuser une production locale, espère, de son côté, le réalisateur Ali Kalthami. Car l’histoire saoudienne n’a pas encore été racontée.»

«J’ai introduit une actrice tête nue dans une de mes séries, ce qui il y a à peine un an aurait provoqué une descente des autorités»

Sultan Al Mutairi, producteur

Pour l’instant, la production du pays se cantonne à quelques longs-métrages, et des programmes télé, dont bon nombre de séries B – au regard des standards occidentaux. La France a tout de même découvert, en 2012, le premier long-métrage de Haifaa al-Mansour, Wadjda, qui racontait le combat d’une fillette pour avoir une bicyclette, et à travers lui, celui de sa mère pour pouvoir conduire. La réalisatrice avait dû se cacher dans un camion et diriger ses comédiens à distance. Elle est, depuis, installée à Los Angeles, comme tant de jeunes artistes saoudiens qui ont fui une société trop corsetée. Ceux qui sont restés naviguent entre les tabous – outre le sexe, il ne peut être question ni de politique, ni de religion dans les films – et la fenêtre de liberté qui s’est entrouverte, il y a à peine un an. Chaque court-métrage, publicité ou documentaire réclame un travail de dentelière.

Chacun tâtonne, tente de se préserver de la censure, mais aussi d’éventuels rejets du public. «J’ai introduit une actrice tête nue dans une de mes séries, ce qui il y a à peine un an aurait provoqué une descente des autorités, poursuit Sultan Al Mutairi. Mais j’avance à pas comptés. Il serait contreproductif de mener toutes les batailles en même temps.» L’an dernier, Hind Alfahad a filmé l’histoire des vendeuses de rue, celles «qu’on voit mais qu’on ne regarde pas». La réalisatrice a passé deux mois sur le trottoir avec l’une d’elles, dans des conditions difficiles, les passants ne comprenant pas ce qu’une femme faisait là, caméra au poing. Hind, plusieurs fois récompensée dans les pays limitrophes, a été la première à faire appel au crowdfunding pour son prochain court-métrage, sur la plateforme Indiegogo. Le succès a dépassé ses espérances et fédéré une communauté d’espoir. Avec Hanna Al Omair, autre réalisatrice qui vient d’être nommée au Conseil du cinéma par les autorités et a fait le voyage à Cannes, elle en est désormais persuadée: «La société ne reviendra jamais en arrière.»


 

Source:© Cannes 2018 : l’Arabie saoudite sur la Croisette, première !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais