Alain, Laval, Heidegger and the Jews: same fight?

Home"Anciens2"Alain, Laval, Heidegger and the Jews: same fight?
14 Partages

FIGAROVOX / READING - He was a master of thought: the publication of his diary, which reveals the anti-Semitic face of the philosopher Alain, has something of the twilight of an idol. With caution and in the interest of nuance, David Brunat delivers the reflections that come to him when he reads Michel Onfray's essay.


- Photo credits: The Observatory

 

 

David Brunat is a communications consultant and writer. He goes back on his reading of Michel Onfray's essay, Winter solstice. Alain, the Jews, Hitler and the Occupation (Observatory editions, March 2018).

 

 


Master of thought of the Third Republic, a mixture of Montaigne patell of radicalism and Virgil of the prairies feather quenched the open air of the countryside, the philosopher Emile Chartier, said Alain, embodied the sacred union of "common sense peasant" and of philosophical thought. His political blindness, dictated by an absolute pacifism born in the trenches of the Great War (where he fought with much heroism), his antisemitic mistakes, his vanity as a revered intellectual have long tarnished the image of the idol . The publication of his Newspaper unpublished 1937-1950 and the concomitant one of Michel Onfray's book, Winter solstice, Alain, The Jews, Hitler and the Occupation to the editions of the Observatoire, a vitriol - pleonasmal essay on the founder of the Popular University of Caen! - put down his reputation of kind wisdom.

"I hope the German will win, because the de Gaulle genre must not prevail at home". We swear that these words are Pierre Laval, who, in a famous speech on June 22, 1942, said he wished the victory of Germany. They were written by Alain in his Newspaper, two years earlier, July 22, the day after the defeat of France.

"We were wrong in 1939 to wage war. We were wrong in 1918, the day after the victory, not to organize a peace of understanding with Germany. Today we must try to do it. We must exhaust every means to find the basis of a definitive reconciliation. " Who, this statement? From Laval, always, in this same speech of infamy. But these remarks are not far from marrying the political convictions and the pacifist creed of Alain.

Still on July 22, 1940, this great reader of Stendhal, Dickens, Balzac, Spinoza, Plato, etc., expresses his admiration for Mein Kampf and for the way in which its author evokes the "Jewish question", with "extraordinary eloquence and remarkable sincerity". Alain praises in Hitler "a modern spirit, an invincible spirit". Elsewhere, he recalls treating some of his comrades in the Ecole Normale Supérieure as "dirty Jews", regrets the excessive moderation of the Vichy government vis-à-vis the Jews, or deplores the "bad style of Bergson", this admirable prose writer and accomplished writer who received the Nobel Prize for Literature without ever having written anything but philosophical works, which are so many jewels for the beauty of the language that unfolds there as for the clear depth of thought that 'expresses it. Not to mention charity-charity ordered ... to turn around his jacket when the wind began to turn, and to celebrate America after bowing to the Reich and his followers. Do not throw any more!

Born in 1970, I probably belong to the last generation who read Alain seriously, because he was still taught by our masters and his tight style, his musard spirit, his high culture and the moral of this moralist of good quality could be an excellent introduction to learning how to think. I still remember a work that a teacher in the third class had asked us from one of his Propos, and unintentionally comical variations of a comrade who had spoken about this thinker named "Alain Propos" (sic) who said such interesting things ... Then, like so many of my contemporaries, I read with passion Alain, to the point of imitating like Julien Gracq - the talent in less - his way of writing and seeing, and to hold his style for the quintessence of the beautiful French spirit (even though Alain's spirit is so devoid of that virtue of humor that also makes the French spirit), and also to take a little bit of everything that this matois grunt said for cash .

It's a bit like knowing that Spinoza had organized a slave trade, that Kant was a kleptomaniac or Hegel a pedophile.

His anti-Semitic exits were long known to specialists, as were his repeated errors of judgment during the war. Nevertheless, for the general public who knew nothing of his Newspaper novelto discover these pages, which are so inimical to the image we had of this great professor, in all respects, of this remarkable intellectual awakener so much admired by his pupils, it is a little as if one learned that Spinoza had organized a slave trade, whether Kant was a kleptomaniac or Hegel a pedophile. A shock. A sickening disappointment. The feeling of having been deceived by an affable and benevolent guardian, by a scout who would have been given the good God of philosophers without confession.

And yet, warnings about the "dark side", the lack of foresight, and the potentially deleterious intellectual and political ascendancy of the one who thought he was an extralucid had started early. Onfray drives the nail and closes the file, but in 1951, at the death of Alain, Jean-Toussaint Desanti published a resounding article under the program: Alain, professor of cowardice. Even better, his former student Raymond Aron wrote in September 1941 in Free France : "Alain has trained generations of young Frenchmen in sterile hostility to the state, in an almost voluntary ignorance of the dangers that threatened the nation ... He has fertilized a kind of voluntary blindness (...), a sort of grandiose semi-absurdity intentional. "

It is then that one can not help thinking, by reading the book of Onfray, Martin Heidegger. The publication of Unpublished newspaper Alain plays the same role, irrespective of their respective thurifiers, as that of the Black notebooks for the mage of the Black Forest in 2014: a fatal blow to the reputation of wisdom, measurement and absence of "sad passions", and the legend of a "soft" and fleeting anti-Semitism.

Beyond the abyssal differences - of thought, of life, of style, etc. Between these two philosophers, how can we not detect disturbing analogies? The same admiration for Hitler. A complete absence of regrets and remorse after the war about their past commitments or convictions. An absolute silence on the Holocaust. The same bad faith of their respective "fans", shouting loudly as soon as they dare to touch a hair of their idol. And also, and most importantly, a guru status and an immense fascination (sometimes mingled with suspicion, it is true) exerted by these two intellectuals of high stature on their pupils or disciples of Jewish origin: Hannah Arendt, Hermann Cohen, Martin Buber , Karl Löwith, Herbert Marcuse, Derrida, etc. for Heidegger; Simone Weil, Raymond Aron (who, as we have seen, quickly distanced himself), André Maurois, Michel Alexandre, etc. for Alain.

Member of the NSDAP until 1945, Heidegger committed no less, according to his rich extra-marital life punctuated with good fortune with Jewish students (Hannah Arendt, Elisabeth Blochmann ...) number of "crimes against race", a capital sin in Nazi ideology. As for Alain, an enraged antisemite, he held in very high esteem Simone Weil, who, in return, and although engaged in the Resistance in defiance of the capitulary inclinations of his former teacher of khagne, expressed to him until his death in 1943 a lively admiration, to the point of entrusting him in a letter dated May 1941 to have "an extremely clear consciousness of all that I owe you" - which does not constitute a slight tribute.

If we want to continue to read Alain and to make it read to our children, it is better to refrain from asking certain questions ...

Onfray shows in his book the dead ends of radical pacifism, which led many of his supporters to collaborate during the war. Before professing his admiration for Hitler, was not Alain one of the founders of the committee of vigilance of anti-fascist intellectuals? A committee that finally exploded in full flight in 1936 when supporters of firmness against the Fuhrer slammed the door. CVIA members included Victor Basch, President of the League of Human Rights since 1926. Killed in January 1944 with his wife by the Militia, near Lyon. And I would like to quote another "Unpublished Journal", no more intended to be published than that of Alain, held by an "anonymous" and who intended to remain so, but which shows if it was necessary that all Intimate diaries of this black period are not alike. It is that of my paternal grandfather, Dr. William Brunat, Lyon doctor and friend of the Basch couple. He wrote on January 13, 1944:

"I am going to the Forensic Institute. In a quarry at Neyron, the corpses of two old men shot were found. Mazel (Editor's note: Pierre Mazel, professor at the Faculty of Medicine of Lyon and creator in 1930 of the University Institute of Occupational Medicine) thinks it is Victor Basch and his wife. He knows that I am caring for them and asks me to identify them. It is these two poor old people: she is completely deaf and almost blind. I went to see them in St. Clair 4 days ago and Victor B spoke to me passionately about the last years of the Republic. And now these two corpses naked on the autopsy table. I would have cried. "

Alain cried on the death of Basch, one of his former companions in arms CVIA and the academic world (he was professor of aesthetics at the Sorbonne), and the disappearance of republican ideals dear to his philosopher's heart "right middle"? And if he lived today, what would be his attitude to the terrorist threat, for example? Would he be inclined to pact, to compose, to finish, to hide his eyes, in a good-looking Munich, or, on the contrary, would he be in favor of a policy of firmness? Impossible to say, of course. And maybe it's better that way. If we want to continue to read Alain and to make it read to our children, it is better to refrain from asking certain questions ...


 

 

Source: ©  Alain, Laval, Heidegger and the Jews: same fight?

14 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Alain, Laval, Heidegger et les Juifs : même combat ?

Home»Anciens2»Alain, Laval, Heidegger et les Juifs : même combat ?

Alain, Laval, Heidegger et les Juifs : même combat ?

FIGAROVOX/LECTURE – Il était un maître à penser : la publication de son journal, qui dévoile la face antisémite du philosophe Alain, a quelque chose du crépuscule d’une idole. Avec prudence et dans le souci de la nuance, David Brunat livre les réflexions qui lui viennent à la lecture de l’essai que lui consacre Michel Onfray.


Alain, Laval, Heidegger et les Juifs : même combat ?
– Crédits photo : L’Observatoire

 

 

David Brunat est conseiller en communication et écrivain. Il revient sur sa lecture de l’essai de Michel Onfray, Solstice d’hiver. Alain, les Juifs, Hitler et l’Occupation (éd. de l’Observatoire, mars 2018).

 

 


Maître à penser de la Troisième République, mélange de Montaigne patelin du radicalisme et de Virgile des préaux à la plume trempée du grand air de la campagne, le philosophe Emile Chartier, dit Alain, incarna l’union sacrée du «bon sens paysan» et de la pensée philosophique. Ses aveuglements politiques, dictés par un pacifisme absolu né dans les tranchées de la Grande Guerre (où il se battit avec beaucoup d’héroïsme), ses errements antisémites, sa vanité d’intellectuel révéré ont depuis longtemps écorné l’image de l’idole. La publication de son Journal inédit 1937-1950 et celle, concomitante, du livre de Michel Onfray, Solstice d’hiver, Alain, Les Juifs, Hitler et l’Occupation aux éditions de l’Observatoire, un essai au vitriol – pléonasme concernant le fondateur de l’Université populaire de Caen! -, mettent à bas sa réputation d’aimable sagesse.

«J’espère que l’Allemand vaincra, car il ne faut pas que le genre de Gaulle l’emporte chez nous». On jurerait que ces mots sont de Pierre Laval, lequel, dans un célèbre discours prononcé le 22 juin 1942, déclarait souhaiter la victoire de l’Allemagne. Ils ont été écrits par Alain dans son Journal, deux ans plus tôt, le 22 juillet, au lendemain de la défaite de la France.

«Nous avons eu tort, en 1939, de faire la guerre. Nous avons eu tort, en 1918, au lendemain de la victoire, de ne pas organiser une paix d’entente avec l’Allemagne. Aujourd’hui, nous devons essayer de le faire. Nous devons épuiser tous les moyens pour trouver la base d’une réconciliation définitive.» De qui, cette affirmation? De Laval, toujours, dans ce même discours d’infamie. Mais ces propos ne sont pas loin d’épouser les convictions politiques et le credo pacifiste jusqu’au-boutiste d’Alain.

Toujours le 22 juillet 1940, ce grand lecteur de Stendhal, Dickens, Balzac, Spinoza, Platon, etc., fait part de son admiration pour Mein Kampf et pour la façon dont son auteur évoque la «question juive», avec «une éloquence extraordinaire et une remarquable sincérité». Alain loue dans Hitler «un esprit moderne, un esprit invincible». Ailleurs, il rappelle avoir traité certains de ses camarades de l’École normale supérieure de «sales Juifs», regrette l’excessive modération du gouvernement de Vichy vis-à-vis des Juifs, ou encore déplore le «mauvais style de Bergson», cet admirable prosateur et écrivain accompli qui reçut le Prix Nobel de littérature sans avoir jamais écrit autre chose que des œuvres philosophiques, qui sont autant de joyaux par la beauté de la langue qui s’y déploie comme par la claire profondeur de la pensée qui s’y exprime. Sans oublier – charité chartiériste bien ordonnée… – de retourner sa veste quand le vent se mit à tourner, et de célébrer l’Amérique après avoir fait des courbettes au Reich et à ses affidés. N’en jetez plus!

Né en 1970, j’appartiens sans doute à la dernière génération qui a lu Alain avec sérieux, parce qu’il était encore enseigné par nos maîtres et que son style serré, son esprit musard, sa haute culture et la morale de ce moraliste de bon aloi pouvaient constituer une excellente entrée en matière pour l’apprentissage de la réflexion. Je me souviens encore d’un travail que nous avait demandé un professeur en classe de troisième à partir d’un de ses Propos, et des variations involontairement cocasses d’un camarade qui avait disserté sur ce penseur nommé «Alain Propos» (sic) qui disait des choses si intéressantes… Puis, comme tant de mes contemporains, j’ai lu avec passion Alain, au point d’imiter comme Julien Gracq – le talent en moins – sa façon d’écrire et de voir, et de tenir son style pour la quintessence du bel esprit français (quoique l’esprit d’Alain soit si dépourvu de cette vertu d’humour qui fait aussi l’esprit français), et aussi de prendre un peu tout ce que disait ce grognard matois pour argent comptant.

C’est un peu comme si l’on apprenait que Spinoza avait organisé un trafic d’esclaves, que Kant était cleptomane ou Hegel pédophile.

Ses sorties antisémites étaient connues de longue date des spécialistes, de même que ses erreurs de jugement répétées pendant la guerre. Il n’empêche, pour le grand public qui ignorait tout de son Journal inédit, découvrir ces pages qui s’accordent si mal avec l’image qu’on avait de ce grand professeur bien sous tous rapports, de ce remarquable éveilleur intellectuel tant admiré de ses élèves, c’est un peu comme si l’on apprenait que Spinoza avait organisé un trafic d’esclaves, que Kant était cleptomane ou Hegel pédophile. Un choc. Une écœurante déception. Le sentiment d’avoir été trompé par un tuteur affable et bienveillant, par un éclaireur à qui l’on aurait donné le Bon Dieu des philosophes sans confession.

Et pourtant, les mises en garde sur la «part d’ombre», le manque de clairvoyance et l’ascendant intellectuel et politique potentiellement délétère de celui qui se prenait pour un extralucide avaient débuté tôt. Onfray enfonce le clou et referme le dossier, mais dès 1951, à la mort d’Alain, Jean-Toussaint Desanti publia un article retentissant au titre programmatique: Alain, professeur de lâcheté. Mieux, son ancien élève Raymond Aron écrivit en septembre 1941 dans La France Libre : «Alain a formé des générations de jeunes Français dans une hostilité stérile à l’État, dans une ignorance presque volontaire des dangers qui menaçaient la nation… Il a fécondé une sorte d’aveuglement volontaire (…), une sorte de grandiose absurdité à demi intentionnelle.»

C’est alors qu’on ne peut s’empêcher de penser, en lisant le livre d’Onfray, à Martin Heidegger. La publication du Journal inédit d’Alain joue le même rôle, n’en déplaise à leurs thuriféraires respectifs, que celui des Cahiers noirs pour le mage de la Forêt-Noire en 2014: un coup fatal à la réputation de sagesse, de mesure et d’absence de «passions tristes», et à la légende d’un antisémitisme «soft» et passager.

Au-delà des différences abyssales – de pensée, de vie, de style, etc. – entre ces deux philosophes, comment ne pas déceler de troublantes analogies? Une même admiration pour Hitler. Une absence totale de regrets et de remords après la guerre quant à leurs engagements ou convictions passés. Un silence également absolu sur la Shoah. La même mauvaise foi de leurs «fans» respectifs, poussant les hauts cris dès qu’on ose toucher à un cheveu de leur idole. Et aussi, et surtout, un statut de gourou et une immense fascination (parfois mêlée de méfiance, il est vrai) exercée par ces deux intellectuels de haute stature sur leurs élèves ou disciples d’origine juive: Hannah Arendt, Hermann Cohen, Martin Buber, Karl Löwith, Herbert Marcuse, Derrida, etc. pour Heidegger ; Simone Weil, Raymond Aron (qui, on l’a vu, prit rapidement ses distances), André Maurois, Michel Alexandre, etc. pour Alain.

Membre du NSDAP jusqu’en 1945, Heidegger n’en commit pas moins, au gré de sa riche vie extra-conjugale jalonnée de bonnes fortunes avec des étudiantes juives (Hannah Arendt, Elisabeth Blochmann…) nombre de «crimes contre la race», un péché capital dans l’idéologie nazie. Quant à Alain, antisémite enragé, il tint en très haute estime Simone Weil, qui, en retour, et quoique engagée dans la Résistance au mépris des inclinations capitulardes de son ancien professeur de khâgne, lui exprima jusqu’à sa mort en 1943 une vive admiration, au point de lui confier dans une lettre datée de mai 1941 avoir «une conscience extrêmement claire de tout ce que je vous dois» – ce qui ne constitue certes pas un mince hommage.

Si nous voulons continuer à lire Alain et à le faire lire à nos enfants, mieux vaut s’abstenir de poser certaines questions…

Onfray montre dans son livre les impasses du pacifisme radical, qui ont conduit nombre de ses tenants à collaborer pendant la guerre. Avant de professer son admiration pour Hitler, Alain ne fut-il pas l’un des fondateurs du comité de vigilance des intellectuels antifascistes? Un comité qui finit par exploser en plein vol en 1936 lorsque les partisans de la fermeté face au Führer en claquèrent la porte. Au nombre des membres du CVIA figurait Victor Basch, président de la Ligue des Droits de l’Homme depuis 1926. Assassiné en janvier 1944 avec son épouse par la Milice, près de Lyon. Et je voudrais à ce propos citer un autre «Journal inédit», pas davantage destiné à être publié que celui d’Alain, tenu par un «anonyme» et qui entendait le rester, mais qui montre s’il en était besoin que tous les journaux intimes de cette période noire ne se ressemblent pas. C’est celui de mon grand-père paternel, le docteur William Brunat, médecin lyonnais et ami des époux Basch. Il écrivit à la date du 13 janvier 1944:

«Je me rends à l’Institut médico-légal. On a découvert dans une carrière à Neyron les cadavres de deux vieillards fusillés. Mazel (NDLR: Pierre Mazel, professeur à la faculté de médecine de Lyon et créateur en 1930 de l’Institut universitaire de médecine du travail) pense qu’il s’agit de Victor Basch et de sa femme. Il sait que je les soigne et me demande de les identifier. C’est bien ces deux pauvres vieux: elle complètement sourde et presque aveugle. Je suis allé les voir à St-Clair il y a 4 jours et Victor B m’a entretenu avec passion des dernières années de la République. Et maintenant ces deux cadavres nus sur la table d’autopsie. J’en aurais pleuré.»

Alain a-t-il pleuré sur la mort de Basch, l’un de ses anciens compagnons d’armes du CVIA et du monde académique (il était professeur d’esthétique à la Sorbonne), et sur la disparition des idéaux républicains chers à son cœur de philosophe «juste milieu»? Et s’il vivait aujourd’hui, quelle serait, par exemple, son attitude face à la menace terroriste? Serait-il enclin à pactiser, à composer, à finasser, à se boucher les yeux, en Munichois bon teint, ou, au contraire, serait-il partisan d’une politique de fermeté? Impossible à dire, bien entendu. Et c’est peut-être mieux ainsi. Si nous voulons continuer à lire Alain et à le faire lire à nos enfants, mieux vaut s’abstenir de poser certaines questions…


 

 

Source:©  Alain, Laval, Heidegger et les Juifs : même combat ?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais