Aggression of a Jewish child: in Sarcelles, the growing malaise of the "little Jerusalem"

Home"TO THE ONE"Aggression of a Jewish child: in Sarcelles, the growing malaise of the "little Jerusalem"
19 Partages

Agression d'un enfant juif : à Sarcelles, le malaise croissant de la «petite Jérusalem»

The assault of an 8-year-old boy in the street on Monday night provoked widespread indignation and aroused the concerns of the Jewish community of Sarcelles, already hard hit by an anti-Semitic riot in 2014.

"When I was little there were Muslims, Jews, Christians, blacks and whites .... They were just friends. "In Sarcelles (Val-d'Oise), this huge tag proudly appears close to several religious buildings, and three steps from a college whose storefront is adorned with a fringing: "Freedom, Equality, Fraternity, Secularism." Yet, ten minutes walk from here, two days ago, a child was attacked because of his religion.

© Aude Bariéty
© Aude Bariéty - Photo credits: Aude Bariéty

Monday evening, 18:30. An 8-year-old boy walks out of his home to attend a tutoring class. Bearer of clearly identifiable Jewish symbols - kippa and tsitsit - he walks a few meters Avenue of 8-May-1945 before falling on two young boys of fifteen years. They knock him down and kick him. The prosecution of Pontoise opens an investigation and retains the mobile anti-Semitic.

»READ ALSO - An 8-year-old Jewish child assaulted in Sarcelles

"Little Jerusalem"

The news spreads among the Jewish community of Sarcelles, one of the largest in France - between 10,000 and 15,000 people according to sources interviewed. In this city of Val-d'Oise, the rectangle made up of the avenues of 8-May-1945 and Paul-Valéry, as well as boulevards Albert-Camus and Édouard-Branly, is even nicknamed the "little Jerusalem".

Many businesses run by members of the Jewish community - Hebrew Bookshop, Kosher butchers, pharmacy, pastry shop and even Chinese restaurant - surround the synagogue. A little further on stands a stele in memory of Yoan Cohen, one of the victims of the HyperCacher, and a place is now called Sandler-and-Monsonego place, named after the victims of the Toulouse slaughter in 2012.

 

Agression d'un enfant juif : à Sarcelles, le malaise croissant de la «petite Jérusalem»
Sarcelles honors the memory of the Jewish victims of the attacks of Vincennes and Toulouse. © Aude Bariéty - Photo credits: Aude Bariéty
 

An anti-Jewish riot in 2014

The aggression of the boy painfully echoed the events of 2014. On July 20 of that year, a pro-Palestinian demonstration banned degenerates into an anti-Jewish riot. "They wanted to burn the synagogue, but they could not, so they burned shops. It was a terrible day, which created a big break, "recalls Moses Kahloun, president of the Jewish community of Sarcelles.

»READ ALSO - In Sarcelles, the "little Jerusalem" always on the alert

Three weeks ago, a Jewish high school girl was also attacked in the street. The antisemitic motive has not been retained, but for most members of the community, it is indeed an anti-Jewish act. "I'm convinced. Do not be afraid to put words on the record. She was coming out of a Jewish high school, wearing well-known clothes in the neighborhood, "insists Moses Kalhoun.

"We do not feel safe here anymore"

As a result, growing discomfort is gaining the "little Jerusalem" regulars. "I'm shocked, but not so surprised, unfortunately. For fifteen years, little by little, the climate is getting worse, "says Eddie, a 41-year-old social worker. "Sarcelles, it was magnificent. But today, it is no longer the Sarcelles before, "sighs Marlene, 75 years including 41 spent in Val-d'Oise. "It's more the same happiness. France is the most beautiful country in the world, but the authorities have to wake up quickly! "Ignites Serge *, 50 years old.

Some even think of leaving the city and settling in Israel. "Everyone's leaving," says Marlene. "More and more people have the alyah in a corner of their head. We start thinking, we do not feel safe here, "says Michael, boss of a kosher butcher shop. "I'm not afraid of a wave of departures for now," tempered Moses Kalhoun. "But if the attacks continue, the question will begin to arise ..."

Sarcelles, "laboratory" of living together

"Paradoxically, in Sarcelles - where I go regularly - the climate is great," says Haim Korsia, the chief rabbi of France. "Largely thanks to the commitment of successive mayors - François Pupponi, Nicolas Maccioni - it is a place where there is respect for everyone in what it is. What makes the situation even more terrible: this city is a laboratory of living together that works! "

This term "laboratory", Mayor Nicolas Maccioni uses it too. "This makes us a target for those who are the enemies of the values ​​of our Republic." Aware of the "feeling of undeniable worry of Sarcellois of Jewish confession", the city intends to "react firmly" while "guarantor" the good living together that has characterized and still characterizes our city today. "

"The whole Republic is being attacked"

After the attack, the authorities' response was immediate. Witness the numerous police patrols that circulate in the "Jewish Quarter". The residents also appreciated the reaction of President Emmanuel Macron, who said Wednesday morning that "every time a citizen is attacked because of his age, his appearance or his confession, it is all the Republic that is being attacked ".

»READ ALSO - Aggression of a Jewish child: "the whole Republic is being attacked" (Macron)

"The bottom line is that the Jewish community can continue to live normally," said Joel Mergui, president of the Central Israelite Consistory of France. And for that, "we must build a plan to combat anti-Semitism," said René Taïeb, president of the Union of Jewish Communities of Val-d'Oise. Premier Édouard Philippe has announced that he will present, in a few weeks, a new interdepartmental plan on this subject. "We must innovate!" Concludes René Taïeb.

* The name has been changed


 

Source: ©Aggression of a Jewish child: in Sarcelles, the growing malaise of the "little Jerusalem"

19 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

Agression d'un enfant juif : à Sarcelles, le malaise croissant de la «petite Jérusalem»

Home»A LA UNE»Agression d’un enfant juif : à Sarcelles, le malaise croissant de la «petite Jérusalem»

Agression d'un enfant juif : à Sarcelles, le malaise croissant de la «petite Jérusalem»

L’agression d’un jeune garçon de 8 ans en pleine rue, lundi soir, a provoqué l’indignation générale et a réveillé les inquiétudes de la communauté juive de Sarcelles, déjà durement touchée par une émeute antisémite en 2014.

«Quand j’étais petit il y avait des musulmans, des juifs, des chrétiens, des Noirs et des Blancs…. C’était juste des copains.» À Sarcelles (Val-d’Oise), cet immense tag s’affiche fièrement à deux pas de plusieurs édifices religieux, et à trois pas d’un collège dont la devanture s’orne d’un fringant: «Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité, Laïcité.» Pourtant, à dix minutes de marche d’ici, il y a deux jours, un enfant a été agressé à cause de sa religion.

© Aude Bariéty
© Aude Bariéty – Crédits photo : Aude Bariéty

Lundi soir, 18h30. Un jeune garçon de 8 ans sort de chez lui pour se rendre à un cours de soutien scolaire. Porteur de symboles juifs clairement identifiables – kippa et tsitsit – il parcourt quelques mètres avenue du 8-Mai-1945 avant de tomber sur deux jeunes garçons d’une quinzaine d’années. Ces derniers le font tomber à terre puis le rouent de coups de pied. Le parquet de Pontoise ouvre une enquête et retient le mobile antisémite.

» LIRE AUSSI – Un enfant juif de 8 ans agressé à Sarcelles

La «petite Jérusalem»

La nouvelle se répand parmi la communauté juive de Sarcelles, l’une des plus importantes de France – entre 10.000 et 15.000 personnes selon les sources interrogées. Dans cette ville du Val-d’Oise, le rectangle composé des avenues du 8-Mai-1945 et Paul-Valéry, ainsi que des boulevards Albert-Camus et Édouard-Branly, est même surnommé la «petite Jérusalem».

De nombreux commerces tenus par des membres de la communauté juive – librairie hébraïque, boucheries casher, pharmacie, pâtisserie et même restaurant chinois – entourent la synagogue. Un peu plus loin se dresse une stèle en la mémoire de Yoan Cohen, une des victimes de l’HyperCacher, et une place s’appelle désormais place Sandler-et-Monsonego, du nom des victimes de la tuerie de Toulouse en 2012.

 

Agression d'un enfant juif : à Sarcelles, le malaise croissant de la «petite Jérusalem»
Sarcelles honore la mémoire des victimes juives des attentats de Vincennes et de Toulouse. © Aude Bariéty – Crédits photo : Aude Bariéty
 

Une émeute anti-juifs en 2014

L’agression du jeune garçon fait douloureusement écho aux événements de 2014. Le 20 juillet de cette année-là, une manifestation pro-palestinienne interdite dégénère en émeute anti-juive. «Ils ont voulu brûler la synagogue, mais ils n’ont pas pu, alors ils ont brûlé des boutiques. C’était un jour terrible, qui a créé une grande cassure», se souvient Moïse Kahloun, président de la communauté juive de Sarcelles.

» LIRE AUSSI – À Sarcelles, la «petite Jérusalem» toujours sur le qui-vive

Il y a trois semaines, une lycéenne juive a elle aussi été agressée dans la rue. Le mobile antisémite n’a pas été retenu, mais pour la plupart des membres de la communauté, il s’agit bien d’un acte anti-juif. «J’en suis convaincu. Il ne faut pas avoir peur de mettre des mots sur les actes. Elle sortait d’un lycée juif, portait des vêtements connus dans le quartier», insiste Moïse Kalhoun.

«On ne se sent plus en sécurité ici»

Résultat: un malaise croissant gagne les habitués de la «petite Jérusalem». «Je suis choqué, mais plus tellement étonné, malheureusement. Depuis une quinzaine d’années, petit à petit, le climat se dégrade», glisse Eddie, travailleur social de 41 ans. «Sarcelles, c’était magnifique. Mais aujourd’hui, ce n’est plus le Sarcelles d’avant», soupire Marlène, 75 ans dont 41 passés dans le Val-d’Oise. «C’est plus le même bonheur. La France, c’est le plus beau pays du monde, mais il faut que les autorités se réveillent vite!» s’enflamme Serge*, 50 ans.

Certains songent même à quitter la ville et s’installer en Israël. «Tout le monde part», affirme Marlène. «De plus en plus de gens ont l’alyah dans un coin de leur tête. On commence à réfléchir, on ne se sent plus en sécurité ici», confirme Michaël, patron d’une boucherie casher. «Je n’ai pas peur d’une vague de départs pour l’instant», tempère Moïse Kalhoun. «Mais si les agressions continuent, la question commencera à se poser…»

Sarcelles, «laboratoire» du vivre ensemble

«Paradoxalement, à Sarcelles – où je me rends régulièrement – , le climat est formidable», témoigne Haïm Korsia, le grand rabbin de France. «En grande partie grâce à l’engagement des maires successifs – François Pupponi, Nicolas Maccioni -, c’est un lieu où règne le respect de chacun dans ce qu’il est. Ce qui rend la situation encore plus terrible: cette ville est un laboratoire du vivre ensemble qui marche!»

Ce terme de «laboratoire», le maire Nicolas Maccioni l’utilise lui aussi. «Cela fait de nous une cible pour ceux qui sont les ennemis des valeurs de notre République.» Conscient du «sentiment d’inquiétude indéniable des Sarcellois de confession juive», l’édile entend «réagir avec fermeté» tout en se portant «garant de ce bon vivre ensemble qui a caractérisé et caractérise encore aujourd’hui notre ville.»

«C’est toute la République qu’on agresse»

Après l’agression, la réponse des autorités a été immédiate. En témoignent les très nombreuses patrouilles de police qui circulent dans le «quartier juif». Les habitants ont également apprécié la réaction du président Emmanuel Macron, qui a estimé, ce mercredi matin, qu’«à chaque fois qu’un citoyen est agressé en raison de son âge, de son apparence ou de sa confession, c’est toute la République qu’on agresse».

» LIRE AUSSI – Agression d’un enfant juif: «c’est toute la République qu’on agresse» (Macron)

«L’essentiel, c’est que la communauté juive puisse continuer à vivre normalement», espère Joël Mergui, président du Consistoire central israélite de France. Et pour cela, «il faut bâtir un plan pour combattre l’antisémitisme», souligne René Taïeb, président de l’Union des collectivités juives du Val-d’Oise. Le premier ministre Édouard Philippe a d’ailleurs annoncé qu’il présenterait, dans quelques semaines, un nouveau plan interministériel à ce sujet. «Il faut innover!» conclut René Taïeb.

*Le prénom a été changé


 

Source: ©Agression d’un enfant juif : à Sarcelles, le malaise croissant de la «petite Jérusalem»

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais