Case Mathieu Gallet: the lessons of an eviction

Home"TO THE ONE"Case Mathieu Gallet: the lessons of an eviction
7 Partages
Affaire Mathieu Gallet : les leçons d'une éviction
If Mathieu Gallet appeals the decision of the CSA to the Council of State and he wins, we could meet in mid-2018 with two CEOs of Radio France: the new, which will be designated by the CSA, and the former, who will reinstate his position. - Photo credits: BERTRAND GUAY / AFP

ANALYSIS - At the end of a methodically conducted undermining work, Emmanuel Macron paves the way to advance without resistance in his project of public broadcasting reform. But the delicate equation posed by the appointment of leaders, highlighted by the episode Gallet, has still not been resolved.

What better way to impose his vision than to discredit that of his predecessor? By pushing the CSA to dismiss Mathieu Gallet, the CEO of Radio France elected unanimously four years earlier, but condemned at first instance for favoritism, Emmanuel Macron demonstrates the limits of the power of appointment conferred on the audiovisual authority by François Hollande. And the soap opera may not be over yet. If Mathieu Gallet appeals the decision of the CSA to the Council of State and he wins, we could meet in mid-2018 with two CEOs of Radio France: the new, which will be designated by the CSA, and the former, who will reinstate his position. Two popes for the same throne. This string has already been used by Philip the Fair to weaken the temporal power of the Church.

It is necessary to solve a very delicate equation: to hold the short reins of the CEO while assuring them a great autonomy vis-à-vis the political power

At the point where things are, Emmanuel Macron avoids a long and heated debate on the need to reform the mode of appointment of CEOs of the public broadcasting and impose a big bang of the companies that compose it. The undermining work was conducted methodically. First round: in September, the state cut budgets of public broadcasting companies, weakening the authority of their leaders. Second round: Emmanuel Macron says that in his eyes, "public broadcasting is the shame of the Republic", finally destabilizing them. Third round: the government obtains from the CSA that it revokes one of them, paralyzing the three others. Mathieu Gallet being K.-O. and the CSA on the ropes, Delphine Ernotte, Marie-Christine Zaragoza and Laurent Vallet no longer want to fight. Now, the Minister of Culture, Françoise Nyssen, can quietly roll out its roadmap: to vote, by the end of 2018, a law entrusting the power of appointment of CEOs of public broadcasting to the boards companies, and then impose the creation of a joint holding company for France Télévisions, Radio France, France Médias Monde and INA.

This time will she be the right one? The question of the appointment of the leaders of the public broadcasting has never found a satisfactory answer. Because we have to solve a very delicate equation: to hold the short reins of the CEOs, while assuring them a great autonomy vis-à-vis the political power. Three successive Presidents of the Republic thought they had found the magic formula. Nicolas Sarkozy felt that it was necessary to end the hypocrisies and games of shadow by granting himself the power of appointment. It was clear and straightforward, but counterproductive. Jean-Luc Hees, a man on the left, spent five years defending himself with the employees of Radio France to have been appointed by a right-wing president. And Rémy Pflimlin was deprived, for the same reason, of some of his authority over France Télévisions' troops. François Hollande took the opposite direction, entrusting the CSA with the task of appointing in complete independence the bosses of the public service. Seductive idea, but just as ineffective. The CSA appointed men and women who then found themselves without defense against the State, sole shareholder and sole decision maker in budgetary matters. Today, Emmanuel Macron thinks that this power must be entrusted to boards of directors. Like in any other company. But he will face a contradiction. If the public service adopts the codes of the private sector, it risks losing its specific missions and blurring its image even more with viewers. But these are also taxpayers who must pay the fee.


 

 

Source: ©  Case Mathieu Gallet: the lessons of an eviction

7 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

Affaire Mathieu Gallet : les leçons d'une éviction

Home»A LA UNE»Affaire Mathieu Gallet : les leçons d’une éviction
Affaire Mathieu Gallet : les leçons d'une éviction
Si Mathieu Gallet fait appel de la décision du CSA auprès du Conseil d’État et qu’il obtient gain de cause, on pourrait se retrouver mi-2018 avec deux PDG de Radio France: le nouveau, qui sera désigné par le CSA, et l’ancien, qui réintégrera son poste. – Crédits photo : BERTRAND GUAY/AFP

ANALYSE – Au terme d’un travail de sape mené méthodiquement, Emmanuel Macron s’ouvre la voie pour avancer sans résistance dans son projet de réforme de l’audiovisuel public. Mais l’équation délicate posée par la nomination des dirigeants, mise en lumière par l’épisode Gallet, n’a toujours pas été résolue.

Quoi de mieux pour imposer sa vision que de décrédibiliser celle de son prédécesseur? En poussant le CSA à démettre Mathieu Gallet, le PDG de Radio France élu à l’unanimité quatre ans plus tôt, mais condamné en première instance pour favoritisme, Emmanuel Macron démontre les limites du pouvoir de nomination conféré à l’autorité de l’audiovisuel par François Hollande. Et le feuilleton n’est peut-être pas encore terminé. Si Mathieu Gallet fait appel de la décision du CSA auprès du Conseil d’État et qu’il obtient gain de cause, on pourrait se retrouver mi-2018 avec deux PDG de Radio France: le nouveau, qui sera désigné par le CSA, et l’ancien, qui réintégrera son poste. Deux papes pour un même trône. Cette ficelle a déjà été utilisée par Philippe le Bel pour affaiblir le pouvoir temporel de l’Église.

Il faut résoudre une équation très délicate : tenir les rênes courtes des PDG tout en leur assurant une grande autonomie vis-à-vis du pouvoir politique

Au point où en sont les choses, Emmanuel Macron s’évite un débat long et houleux sur la nécessité de réformer le mode de nomination des PDG de l’audiovisuel public et d’imposer un big bang des entreprises qui le composent. Le travail de sape a été mené méthodiquement. Premier round: en septembre, l’État coupe dans les budgets des sociétés de l’audiovisuel public, affaiblissant au passage l’autorité de leurs dirigeants. Deuxième round: Emmanuel Macron fait savoir qu’à ses yeux, «l’audiovisuel public est la honte de la République», achevant de les déstabiliser. Troisième round: le gouvernement obtient du CSA qu’il révoque l’un d’eux, tétanisant les trois autres. Mathieu Gallet étant K.-O. et le CSA dans les cordes, Delphine Ernotte, Marie-Christine Saragosse et Laurent Vallet n’ont plus envie d’en découdre. Désormais, la ministre de la Culture, Françoise Nyssen, peut tranquillement dérouler sa feuille de route: faire voter, d’ici à la fin de l’année 2018, une loi confiant le pouvoir de nomination des PDG de l’audiovisuel public aux conseils d’administration des sociétés, puis imposer la création d’un holding commun à France Télévisions, Radio France, France Médias Monde et l’INA.

Cette fois sera-t-elle la bonne? La question de la nomination des dirigeants de l’audiovisuel public n’a jamais trouvé de réponse satisfaisante. Car il faut résoudre une équation très délicate: tenir les rênes courtes des PDG, tout en leur assurant une grande autonomie vis-à-vis du pouvoir politique. Trois présidents de la République successifs ont pensé avoir trouvé la formule magique. Nicolas Sarkozy a estimé qu’il fallaiten finir avec les hypocrisies et les jeux d’ombre en s’octroyant lui-même le pouvoir de nomination. C’était clair et direct, mais à l’usage contre-productif. Jean-Luc Hees, homme de gauche, a passé cinq ans à se défendre auprès des salariés de Radio France d’avoir été nommé par un président de droite. Et Rémy Pflimlin a été privé, pour la même raison, d’une partie de son autorité sur les troupes de France Télévisions. François Hollande a pris le contre-pied, en confiant au CSA le soin de nommer en toute indépendance les patrons du service public. Idée séduisante, mais tout aussi inopérante. Le CSA a nommé des hommes et femmes qui, ensuite, se sont retrouvés sans défense face à l’État, unique actionnaire et unique décideur en matière budgétaire. Aujourd’hui, Emmanuel Macron pense qu’il faut confier ce pouvoir aux conseils d’administration. Comme dans n’importe quelle autre entreprise. Mais il va se retrouver face à une contradiction. Si le service public adopte les codes du privé, il risque de perdre ses missions spécifiques et de brouiller encore plus son image auprès des téléspectateurs. Or ces derniers sont aussi des contribuables qui doivent s’acquitter de la redevance.


 

 

Source:©  Affaire Mathieu Gallet : les leçons d’une éviction

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais