In Brafa, a nice mix of cultures

Home"Anciens2"In Brafa, a nice mix of cultures
7 Partages

 

For its friendly atmosphere and its ever more specialized and diversified selection, the Brussels lounge, which pays homage to Christo, is enthusiastic for its audience.

Wednesday, for the VIP preview, everyone was waiting for Christo, the star artist of the 63rd edition of the Brafa, the Brussels show which has become the first appointment of the year in the calendar of the market. art. Under the large industrial hall Tour & Taxis, on a site in perpetual construction site in the bottom of the city, throne one of its mythical plays, Three Store Fronts, made from 1963 to 1966, in his studio in Manhattan. 14 meters long, the monumental work could only be installed elsewhere in the fair's restaurant, following the same layout as at the Van Abbemuseum in Eindhoven in 1966.

But big disappointment, Christo did not come. Three weeks before the opening, he said he could not be there. In contrast to Julio Le Parc, the Argentine king of kinetic art (88 years) who had lent himself to the game of photos last year in front of his red and blue mobiles, Christo, the king of packaging (83 years old), could not publicly express his joy to associate his name with this event. Recently, to conquer new audiences, the organizers of Brafa wanted to give more space to modern and contemporary by offering artists of the twentieth century - more than confirmed given their age! - to follow them.

In an atmosphere of real conviviality that stands out with that of our French salons, the public comes precisely for this eclecticism

"Christo is no longer very young," replied Harold t'Kint de Roodenbeke, the director of Brafa, who is finishing his second term. But in fact, on the eve of the vernissage, on January 23rd, there was a more important event for the artist in London: the approval by the Westminster Council of his Mastaba project on the lake in the heart of Hyde Park, facing the Serpentine Gallery (he will see the light next June), before building his giant trapeze composed of some 410,000 barrels of oil that will remain, after its installation, in the desert of Abu Dhabi. The information was confirmed by his gallerist Guy Pieters, who devotes a masterful one-man show to him on the show, showing his big drawings of his old projects (375.000 to 425.000 euros) and his packaged objects of the first years (95.000 euros the bouquet of flowers!).

On several stands, Christo is honored (450,000 euros, his drawings of places "packed" at Tornabuoni) as other contemporaries who marry with older. It is precisely this journey through the ages of the history of art, to archeology and the first arts, which is the attraction of this fair. In an atmosphere of real conviviality that stands in stark contrast to that of our French salons, the public comes precisely for this eclecticism: steadily increasing, attendance has exceeded 61,000 visitors in 2017. For this 2018 edition, the Brafa brings together 133 galleries and merchants some fifteen countries, mainly European. "We had nearly 80 names on the waiting list, it is the proof of the attractiveness of this show which is gaining reputation from year to year," confirmed before you opened Harold t'Kint Roodenbeke. The latter has found a last minute place for Christian Deydier, a specialist in Chinese art whose project for a new show Sublime is much talked about in the alleys of Brafa. There are thirteen new major brands including the Chastel-Marshal galleries, the Presidency, Ratton (beautiful confrontation of the first art with paintings of Dubuffet very noticed but for sale!) Or Gladstone (between 145,000 and 155,000 euros the unique editions of very nice quality of Ugo Rondinone).

"This is my best edition in nine years that I'm doing this show"

Xavier Eckhout

Belgium is honored, as it should be, with Magritte, The Oracle, painted in 1931, at Boon Gallery. Another very noticed piece: Deer hunting by Diane and her nymphs, collective work of Peter Paul Rubens, unearthed during the summer 2015 in Paris at an auction by Klaas Muller from Brussels. All came to admire this great canvas whose announced price of several million euros remains confidential. In archeology, the Genevan gallery Phoenix (which has just announced its participation in Sublime) offers a nugget that has been released for a few months from a private American collection. It is a Roman head from the Augustus period (10-20 BC) carrying the proposed Hunt pedigree to 3.5 million euros. In modern art, the Fleury gallery has released a large accumulation of Arman saxophones (1983) from a private collection (350,000 euros).

Business started slowly the first night, where the 1,800 guests invited to the grand dinner set in the aisles are more likely to reunite with friends than firm and permanent purchases. But since then, there have been several sales, including the Brussels Didier Claes, who would have given up all of his eleven masks ceremonial ceremonies Yaka wood and raffia (southwestern Democratic Republic of Congo, on the border of the Angola) came out of the same collection and hung on the wall in a very spectacular presentation (between 12,000 and 18,000 euros each).

"This is my best edition in nine years that I make this show, observes the Parisian Xavier Eckhout, who announced his participation in Sublime. I sold 14 pieces out of 24 in three days, including the patinated cast plaster of Rembrandt Bugatti, a male puma modeled in 1911 and published in 26 copies from 1912. "The latter was bought in a sale in Tours in 1989 and has since remained in the same French collection. The fact that the artist drew it in the Antwerp zoo probably gave him this immediate success in Belgium!

Until 4 February, Tour Taxis, Avenue du Port 86 C / B1000 Brussels, www.brafa.art


Source: ©  In Brafa, a nice mix of cultures

7 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

À la Brafa, un joli mélange des cultures

Home»Anciens2»À la Brafa, un joli mélange des cultures

À la Brafa, un joli mélange des cultures

 

Pour son ambiance conviviale et sa sélection toujours plus pointue et diversifiée, le salon bruxellois, qui rend hommage à Christo, enthousiasme son public.

Mercredi, pour le vernissage VIP, tout le monde attendait Christo, l’artiste star de la 63e édition de la Brafa, ce salon bruxellois qui s’est imposé désormais comme le premier rendez-vous de l’année dans le calendrier du marché de l’art. Sous la grande halle industrielle Tour & Taxis, sur un site en perpétuel chantier dans le bas de la ville, trône l’une de ses pièces mythiques, Three Store Fronts, réalisée de 1963 à 1966, dans son atelier de Manhattan. Longue de 14 mètres, l’œuvre monumentale n’a pu être installée ailleurs que dans le restaurant de la foire, selon la même disposition qu’au Van Abbemuseum d’Eindhoven en 1966.

Mais grosse déception, Christo n’est pas venu. Trois semaines avant l’ouverture, il a fait savoir qu’il ne pourrait être là. À l’inverse de Julio Le Parc, l’Argentin roi de l’art cinétique (88 ans) qui s’était prêté au jeu des photos l’an dernier devant ses mobiles rouges et bleus, Christo, le roi de l’emballage (83 ans), n’a pu exprimer publiquement sa joie d’associer son nom à cette manifestation. Depuis peu, pour conquérir de nouveaux publics, les organisateurs de la Brafa ont voulu accorder plus de place au moderne et contemporain en proposant à des artistes du XXe siècle – plus que confirmés vu leur âge! – de les suivre.

Dans une atmosphère de réelle convivialité qui dénote avec celle de nos salons français, le public y vient justement pour cet éclectisme

«Christo n’est plus tout jeune, a répondu diplomatiquement Harold t’Kint de Roodenbeke, le directeur de la Brafa, qui termine son deuxième mandat. Mais en fait, la veille du vernissage, le 23 janvier, il se passait pour l’artiste un événement plus important à Londres: l’approbation par le Conseil de Westminster de son projet de Mastaba, sur le lac, en plein cœur de Hyde Park, face à la Serpentine Gallery ( il verra le jour en juin prochain), avant de construire son trapèze géant composé de quelque 410.000 barils de pétrole qui restera, après son installation, dans le désert d’Abu Dhabi. L’information a été confirmée par son galeriste Guy Pieters, qui lui consacre un one-man-show magistral sur le salon, en montrant ses grands dessins de ses anciens projets (375.000 à 425.000 euros) et ses objets emballés des premières années (95.000 euros le bouquet de fleurs!).

Sur plusieurs stands, Christo est à l’honneur (450.000 euros, ses dessins de lieux «emballés» chez Tornabuoni) comme d’autres de ses contemporains qui se marient avec des plus anciens. C’est justement ce parcours à travers les âges de l’histoire de l’art, jusqu’à l’archéologie et les arts premiers, qui fait l’attrait de cette foire. Dans une atmosphère de réelle convivialité qui dénote avec celle de nos salons français, le public y vient justement pour cet éclectisme: en constante augmentation, la fréquentation a dépassé les 61.000 visiteurs en 2017. Pour cette édition 2018, la Brafa rassemble 133 galeries et marchands d’une quinzaine de pays, principalement européens. «Nous avions près de 80 noms en liste d’attente, c’est la preuve de l’attractivité de ce salon qui gagne en réputation d’année en année»,avait confirmé avant son ouverture Harold t’Kint de Roodenbeke. Ce dernier a trouvé une place de dernière minute pour Christian Deydier, spécialiste de l’art chinois dont le projet de nouveau salon Sublime fait beaucoup parler de lui dans les allées de la Brafa. On compte treize nouvelles enseignes majeures dont les galeries Chastel-Maréchal, la Présidence, Ratton (belle confrontation de l’art premier avec des toiles de Dubuffet très remarquées mais à vendre!) ou Gladstone (entre 145.000 et 155.000 euros les éditions uniques de très belle qualité d’Ugo Rondinone).

«C’est ma meilleure édition depuis neuf ans que je fais ce salon»

Xavier Eckhout

La Belgique est à l’honneur, comme il se doit, avec Magritte, L’Oracle, peint en 1931, chez Boon Gallery. Autre pièce très remarquée: La Chasse au cerf par Diane et ses nymphes, œuvre collective de Peter Paul Rubens, dénichée durant l’été 2015 à Paris dans une vente aux enchères par Klaas Muller de Bruxelles. Tous sont venus admirer cette grande toile dont le prix annoncé de plusieurs millions d’euros reste confidentiel. En archéologie, la galerie genevoise Phoenix (qui vient d’annoncer sa participation à Sublime) propose une pépite sortie depuis quelques mois d’une collection privée américaine. Il s’agit d’une tête romaine de la période d’Auguste (10-20 avant J.-C.) portant le pedigree Hunt proposée à 3,5 millions d’euros. En art moderne, la galerie Fleury a sorti une grande accumulation de saxophones d’Arman (1983) venant d’une collection privée (350.000 euros).

Les affaires ont démarré lentement le premier soir, où les 1 800 invités conviés au grand dîner dressé dans les allées sont plus enclins aux retrouvailles entre amis qu’aux achats fermes et définitifs. Mais, depuis, on compte plusieurs ventes, notamment chez le Bruxellois Didier Claes, qui aurait cédé la totalité de ses onze masques de cérémonies rituelles Yaka en bois et raphia (sud-ouest de la République démocratique du Congo, à la frontière de l’Angola) sortis de la même collection et accrochés au mur dans une présentation très spectaculaire (entre 12.000 et 18.000 euros chacun).

«C’est ma meilleure édition depuis neuf ans que je fais ce salon, observe le Parisien Xavier Eckhout, qui a annoncé sa participation à Sublime. J’ai vendu 14 pièces sur 24 en trois jours dont le plâtre de fonderie patiné de Rembrandt Bugatti, un puma mâle modelé en 1911 et édité à 26 exemplaires à partir 1912.» Ce dernier a été acheté dans une vente à Tours en 1989 et est resté depuis dans la même collection française. Le fait que l’artiste l’ait dessiné dans le zoo d’Anvers lui a sans doute valu ce succès immédiat en Belgique!

Jusqu’au 4 février, Tour  Taxis, avenue du Port 86 C / B1000 Bruxelles, www.brafa.art


Source:©  À la Brafa, un joli mélange des cultures

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais