In Jerusalem, EU diplomats raise their voice against Trump

Home"TO THE ONE"In Jerusalem, EU diplomats raise their voice against Trump
30 Partages
À Jérusalem, les diplomates de l'UE haussent le ton face à Trump
In a transparent allusion to the peace plan on which the Trump Administration is working, European diplomats urge the EU and its Member States to reaffirm without hesitation that "any future initiative aimed at resolving the Israeli-Palestinian conflict must, among other things, aim at determination of the status of Jerusalem as the capital of the two states ". - Photo credits: THOMAS COEX / AFP

EXCLUSIVE - In a confidential report, which Le Figaro has seen, these heads of mission call for a stronger distinction between Israel and the settlements in the Occupied Palestinian Territory.

Corresponding to Jerusalem

The worrying state of affairs that EU Heads of Missions set out at the same time every year at the same time can sometimes seem repetitive. In recent weeks, however, their internal report to the Political and Security Committee was eagerly awaited. What answer do these diplomats accredited to the Palestinian Authority recommend after American recognition of the Holy City as the capital of Israel? "This is the first time that a final status parameter has been subject to a third party policy change since the conclusion of the Oslo Accords (signed in 1993)," they note in an introduction to this. 49 pages of which Le Figaro took notice. In a transparent allusion to the Trump Administration's peace plan, they call on the EU and its Member States to reaffirm without hesitation that "any future initiative aimed at resolving the Israeli-Palestinian conflict must, among other things, aim at the status of Jerusalem as the capital of the two states ".

»READ ALSO - Ran Halevi: "The recognition of Jerusalem, Trump's dubious gift to the Israelis"

"In the absence of a meaningful peace process, developments in 2017 have further accelerated the erosion of the two-state solution"

European diplomats

In terms of observation, diplomats observe with gravity that "in the absence of a significant peace process, developments in 2017 have further accelerated the erosion of the two-State solution." The past year has been marked by "a record increase in the number of colonization plansIn East Jerusalem, "including areas identified by member states as essential" to the creation of a Palestinian state. In total, more than 3,000 housing units for Israelis are under construction in the eastern part of the city, where some 215,000 settlers already reside (in addition to 317,000 Palestinians). Most of these projects are located in the eleven large settlements around the historic basin, but also in enclaves in the heart and on the edge of the Old City. Palestinian families are regularly evicted from their homes at the request of settler organizations who wish to strengthen their presence there. In the periphery of Jerusalem, moreover, the Israeli government plans to evacuate several Bedouin communities established on land where it has often expressed its intention to enlarge existing settlements.

The Heads of Mission stress that Israel is actively engaged in "the political, economic and social marginalization of Palestinians in Jerusalem", and this "in violation of its obligations under international humanitarian law". In 2017, they note, they were 95 to lose their residency status because they no longer satisfied the conditions imposed by the Jewish state. A total of 14,595 Palestinians had to give up living in East Jerusalem between 1967 and 2016. The report recalls that these revocations are part of a development plan adopted by the Jerusalem City Hall in 2007, one of which The objectives claimed are to "preserve a substantial Jewish majority". He points to the lack of services in the field of health as well as education - it is estimated that 1938 classes are missing for Palestinian students - and notes that the isolation of East Jerusalem, accentuated by the construction of the wall of separation, precipitated its economic decline. "The city's contribution to the Palestinian GDP has fallen from 15% before the Oslo Accords to less than 7% today," diplomats write, who also deplore "a constant crackdown on all forms of organized Palestinian political life. ".

The report deplores "a constant repression of all forms of organized Palestinian political life"

The report also points the recent start of three laws on the delineation of the administrative boundaries of Jerusalem. The first proposes to excise Palestinian neighborhoods located on the fringes of the city. Another plans, on the contrary, to absorb several neighboring Jewish settlements. Finally, a law complicating the transfer of any territory in Jerusalem to a foreign power was recently adopted by the Knesset. "Each of these initiatives has ramifications that could affect the two-state solution," reads the report. Finally, the authors warn against the inexorable rise of tension around the esplanade of the Mosques, which, in the heart of the summer of 2017, provided the pretext for the murder of two Israeli policemen then nourished a strong mobilization against the porticos installed by the police.

Federica Mogherini, chef de la diplomatie européenne. Elle devra réussir à convaincre des États membres divisés d'agir de concert.
Federica Mogherini, Head of European Diplomacy. It will have to convince divided Member States to act together. - Photo credits: FRANCOIS LENOIR / REUTERS

Faced with this acceleration of history, EU Heads of Mission are urging their capitals to harden their tone. These, they insist, must obviously refuse the temptation to emulate the United States by transferring their capital to Jerusalem until the final status of the city has been determined by negotiations. In the meantime, they call for the fight against the facts accomplished by the Jewish State - for example, by challenging the relevant international organizations with its tourist or archaeological projects in East Jerusalem. They propose to demand the reopening of Palestinian institutions in the city, especially the House of the East, and to strengthen support for activists who defend human rights there. Above all, they advocate developing the policy of differentiation between Israel and the settlements of the West Bank. "We invite, they add, the Member States to consider changing the immigration rules to violent settlers."

Diplomats, on the front line facing the erosion of the status quo in JerusalemWill they be listened to by their governments? The answer is uncertain, as Member States hesitate and disagree on the best way to respond to Israeli policy. On Christmas Eve, the reservations introduced by several Eastern European states with a view to alleviating some of the report's conclusions delayed its adoption. But the European Commission posted Wednesday its determination by unlocking 14.9 million euros to "preserve the Palestinian character of the city and counter a disturbing erosion." On the ground, however, at the same time, the heads of mission are unanimous in wanting to break with the discretion that they traditionally impose in order to "guarantee media visibility for (their) public diplomacy actions".


"Countering the activities of colonization"

The tenth of the twelve recommendations made by European diplomats will undoubtedly not go unnoticed in Israel. To "counteract settlement activities", they call on the EU and member states to deepen their policy of "differentiation" between the Jewish state and the West Bank settlements. Starting from the observation that the directive imposing the labeling of the goods manufactured in these establishments, published at the end of 2015 by the European Commission, is very unequally applied (France transposed it in November 2016), they recommend to their capitals to pass the speed higher. The report also calls for "more effective mechanisms to ensure that settlement products do not enjoy the preferential treatment" applied since 2004 between Israel and the EU. "This is in theory already the case, but the tools available to European economic players to identify these goods are not developed," decrypts a specialist. Their tracking is based on a database that has not been updated while the postal codes of many colonies were changed four years ago. Diplomats also recommend that the "differentiation" clause, as it was incorporated at the end of 2013 into a scientific cooperation agreement, be broken down into the other fields of the partnership between Israel and the EU. Finally, they call for "developing a communication strategy" to better counter the amalgamation between the boycott, which Europe condemns, and the distinction between Israel and its colonies, to which it invites.

Source: ©In Jerusalem, EU diplomats raise their voice against Trump

30 Partages

7 Responses to "À Jérusalem, les diplomates de l’UE haussent le ton face à Trump"

  1. Charles Pariente
    Charles Pariente   31 January 2018 at 20 h 21 min

    if you know how much he does not care about the opinion of European trump but only if you knew how much he has nothing to do with it because with us he is terribly missing a president of his trump

    Reply
    • Richard Abitbol
      Richard Abitbol   31 January 2018 at 21 h 50 min

      Europe goes in the wall!

      Reply
    • Charles Pariente
      Charles Pariente   1 February 2018 at 17 h 39 min

      with the hand put by the officials and not only in France who block all advancement by their numbers and pay that paralyzes the country because in France alone 500 to 600 officials paid much more than the president and all the ministers manage the country like a band of wolves

      Reply
  2. Myri Rose
    Myri Rose   31 January 2018 at 22 h 09 min

    VIVE DONALD TRUMP WHO CAN DO FI FI THESE SAYING DIPLOMATES TO TWO BALES !!!!

    Reply
  3. Nicole Riahi
    Nicole Riahi   31 January 2018 at 23 h 15 min

    And if we let the protagonists solve their problem

    Reply
  4. Raymond BRIEFEL   31 January 2018 at 23 h 47 min

    Okay with Nicole. Why is Europe stubbornly trying to impose its solution, which has the effect of preventing real negotiations between the parties?

    Reply
  5. Gilles Prince
    Gilles Prince   1 February 2018 at 3 h 02 min

    they had their time after 40 years of talking by jaze jaze time to go to the action that fury the Europe the US did not ask permission and polite way the house told them to go f uck themself in a more politically correct way !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

À Jérusalem, les diplomates de l'UE haussent le ton face à Trump

Home»A LA UNE»À Jérusalem, les diplomates de l’UE haussent le ton face à Trump
À Jérusalem, les diplomates de l'UE haussent le ton face à Trump
Dans une allusion transparente au plan de paix sur lequel planche l’Administration Trump, les diplomates européens invitent l’Union et ses États membres à réaffirmer sans faiblir que «toute future initiative visant à résoudre le conflit israélo-palestinien doit notamment avoir pour objectif la détermination du statut de Jérusalem comme capitale des deux États». – Crédits photo : THOMAS COEX/AFP

EXCLUSIF – Dans un rapport confidentiel, dont Le Figaro a pris connaissance, ces chefs de mission appellent à renforcer la distinction entre Israël et les colonies situées en Territoire palestinien occupé.

Correspondant à Jérusalem

L’état des lieux inquiet que dressent, chaque année à la même époque, les chefs de missions de l’UE sur l’évolution de la situation à Jérusalem peut parfois sembler répétitif. Ces dernières semaines, pourtant, leur rapport interne à l’intention du Comité politique et de sécurité était attendu avec impatience. Quelle réponse ces diplomates accrédités auprès de l’Autorité palestinienne préconisent-ils après la reconnaissance américaine de la Ville sainte comme capitale d’Israël? «C’est la première fois qu’un paramètre du statut final fait l’objet d’un changement de politique par une tierce partie depuis la conclusion des accords d’Oslo (signés en 1993)», relèvent-ils en introduction à ce document de 49 pages dont Le Figaro a pris connaissance. Dans une allusion transparente au plan de paix sur lequel planche l’Administration Trump, ils invitent l’Union et ses États membres à réaffirmer sans faiblir que «toute future initiative visant à résoudre le conflit israélo-palestinien doit notamment avoir pour objectif la détermination du statut de Jérusalem comme capitale des deux États».

» LIRE AUSSI – Ran Halévi: «La reconnaissance de Jérusalem, cadeau douteux de Trump aux Israéliens»

«En l’absence de processus de paix significatif, les développements survenus en 2017 ont encore accéléré l’érosion de la solution des deux États»

Les diplomates européens

Au chapitre du constat, les diplomates observent avec gravité qu’«en l’absence de processus de paix significatif, les développements survenus en 2017 ont encore accéléré l’érosion de la solution des deux États». L’année écoulée a été marquée par «une progression record du nombre de plans de colonisation» à Jérusalem-Est, «y compris dans les zones identifiées par les États membres comme essentielles» à la création d’un État palestinien. Au total, plus de 3000 logements destinés à des Israéliens sont en voie de construction dans la partie orientale de la ville, où résident déjà quelque 215.000 colons (en plus des 317.000 Palestiniens). Ces chantiers sont pour la plupart répartis dans les onze vastes quartiers de colonisation aménagés autour du bassin historique, mais aussi dans des enclaves au cœur et en lisière de la Vieille Ville. Des familles palestiniennes sont régulièrement expulsées de leur logement à la demande d’organisations de colons qui souhaitent y renforcer leur présence. Dans la périphérie de Jérusalem, en outre, le gouvernement israélien prévoit d’évacuer plusieurs communautés bédouines établies sur des terrains où il a souvent exprimé son intention d’agrandir des colonies existantes.

Les chefs de mission soulignent qu’Israël œuvre activement à «la marginalisation politique, économique et sociale des Palestiniens à Jérusalem», et ce «en violation de ses obligations au regard du droit humanitaire international». En 2017, remarquent-ils, ils furent 95 à perdre leur statut de résident parce qu’ils ne satisfaisaient plus aux conditions imposées par l’État hébreu. Au total, 14.595 Palestiniens ont dû renoncer à vivre à Jérusalem-Est entre 1967 et 2016. Le rapport rappelle que ces révocations s’inscrivent dans le cadre d’un plan de développement adopté par la mairie de Jérusalem en 2007, dont l’un des objectifs revendiqué est d’y «préserver une majorité juive substantielle». Il pointe la carence des services dans le domaine de la santé ainsi que de l’éducation – on estime qu’il manque 1938 classes pour les élèves palestiniens – et relève que l’isolement de Jérusalem-Est, accentué par la construction du mur de séparation, a précipité son déclin économique. «La contribution de la ville au PIB palestinien est tombée de 15 % avant les accords d’Oslo à moins de 7 % aujourd’hui», écrivent les diplomates, qui déplorent par ailleurs «une répression constante de toute forme de vie politique palestinienne organisée».

Le rapport déplore «une répression constante de toute forme de vie politique palestinienne organisée»

Le rapport pointe aussi la récente mise en chantier de trois textes de loi portant sur le tracé des limites administratives de Jérusalem. Le premier propose d’exciser des quartiers palestiniens situés aux franges de la ville. Un autre envisage, au contraire, d’absorber plusieurs colonies juives voisines. Enfin, une loi compliquant la cession de tout territoire situé à Jérusalem à une puissance étrangère a tout récemment été adoptée par la Knesset. «Chacune de ces initiatives porte en germe des ramifications susceptibles d’affecter la solution des deux États», peut-on lire dans le rapport. Enfin, les auteurs mettent en garde contre l’inexorable montée des tensions autour de l’esplanade des Mosquées, qui, au cœur de l’été 2017, ont fourni le prétexte au meurtre de deux policiers israéliens puis nourri une forte mobilisation contre les portiques de sécurité installés par la police.

Federica Mogherini, chef de la diplomatie européenne. Elle devra réussir à convaincre des États membres divisés d'agir de concert.
Federica Mogherini, chef de la diplomatie européenne. Elle devra réussir à convaincre des États membres divisés d’agir de concert. – Crédits photo : FRANCOIS LENOIR/REUTERS

Face à cette accélération de l’histoire, les chefs de mission de l’UE proposent à leurs capitales de durcir le ton. Celles-ci, insistent-ils, doivent évidemment refuser la tentation d’imiter les États-Unis en transférant leur capitale à Jérusalem tant que le statut final de la ville n’aura pas été fixé par des négociations. En attendant, ils appellent à combattre pied à pied les faits accomplis créés par l’État hébreu – par exemple en contestant devant les organisations internationales compétentes ses projets touristiques ou archéologiques à Jérusalem-Est. Ils proposent de réclamer la réouverture des institutions palestiniennes dans la ville, en particulier la Maison de l’Orient, et de renforcer le soutien aux activistes qui y défendent les droits de l’homme. Surtout, ils préconisent de développer la politique de différenciation entre Israël et les colonies de Cisjordanie. «Nous invitons, ajoutent-ils, les États membres à envisager une modification des règles d’immigration vis-à-vis des colons violents.»

Les diplomates, en première ligne face à l’érosion du statu quo à Jérusalem, seront-ils écoutés de leurs gouvernements? La réponse est incertaine, tant les États membres hésitent et se divisent sur la meilleure façon de répondre à la politique israélienne. À la veille de Noël, les réserves introduites par plusieurs États d’Europe de l’Est en vue d’atténuer certaines conclusions du rapport en ont retardé l’adoption. Mais la Commission européenne a affiché mercredi sa détermination en débloquant 14,9 millions d’euros pour «préserver le caractère palestinien de la ville et contrer une érosion inquiétante». Sur le terrain, cependant, dans le même temps, les chefs de mission sont unanimes à vouloir rompre avec la discrétion qu’ils s’imposent traditionnellement afin de «garantir une visibilité médiatique à (leurs) actions de diplomatie publique».


«Contrer les activités de la colonisation»

La dixième des douze recommandations formulées par les diplomates européens ne passera sans doute pas inaperçue en Israël. Pour «contrer les activités de colonisation», ils appellent l’UE et les États membres à approfondir leur politique de «différenciation» entre l’État hébreu et les colonies de Cisjordanie. Partant du constat que la directive imposant l’étiquetage des marchandises fabriquées dans ces implantations, publiée fin 2015 par la Commission européenne, est très inégalement appliquée (la France l’a transposée en novembre 2016), ils recommandent à leurs capitales de passer la vitesse supérieure. Le rapport réclame aussi «des mécanismes plus efficaces pour faire en sorte que les produits des colonies ne bénéficient pas du traitement préférentiel» appliqué depuis 2004 entre Israël et l’UE. «C’est en théorie déjà le cas, mais les outils dont disposent les acteurs économiques européens pour identifier ces marchandises ne sont pas au point», décrypte un spécialiste. Leur repérage est en effet basé sur une base de données qui n’a pas été mise à jour alors que les codes postaux de nombreuses colonies ont été modifiés il y a quatre ans. Les diplomates recommandent aussi que la clause de «différenciation», telle qu’elle fut intégrée fin 2013 à un accord de coopération scientifique, soit déclinée aux autres champs du partenariat entre Israël et l’UE. Enfin, ils appellent à «développer une stratégie de communication» pour mieux contrer l’amalgame entre le boycott, que l’Europe condamne, et la distinction entre Israël et ses colonies, à laquelle elle invite.

Source: ©À Jérusalem, les diplomates de l’UE haussent le ton face à Trump

7 Responses to "À Jérusalem, les diplomates de l’UE haussent le ton face à Trump"

  1. Charles Pariente
    Charles Pariente   31 janvier 2018 at 20 h 21 min

    si vous savez combien il s’en fout de l’opinion des européens trump mais seulement si vous saviez combien il n’en as strictement rien a foutre car chez nous il manque terriblement un président de sa rempe

    Répondre
    • Richard Abitbol
      Richard Abitbol   31 janvier 2018 at 21 h 50 min

      L’Europe va dans le mur !

      Répondre
    • Charles Pariente
      Charles Pariente   1 février 2018 at 17 h 39 min

      avec la main mise par les fonctionnaires et pas seulement en france qui bloquent tout avancement de part leurs nombres et des payes qui paralyses le pays car rien qu’en france 500 à 600 fonctionnaires payés beaucoup plus que le président et tous les ministres gèrent le pays comme une bande de loups

      Répondre
  2. Myri Rose
    Myri Rose   31 janvier 2018 at 22 h 09 min

    VIVE DONALD TRUMP QUI SAIT FAIRE FI A CES SOI DISANT DIPLOMATES A DEUX BALLES !!!!

    Répondre
  3. Nicole Riahi
    Nicole Riahi   31 janvier 2018 at 23 h 15 min

    Et si on laissait les protagonistes régler leur problème

    Répondre
  4. Raymond BRIEFEL   31 janvier 2018 at 23 h 47 min

    D’accord avec Nicole. Pourquoi l’Europe s’entête-t-elle à vouloir imposer sa solution ce qui a pour résultat d’empêcher la tenue de vraies négociations entre les parties.

    Répondre
  5. Gilles Prince
    Gilles Prince   1 février 2018 at 3 h 02 min

    ils ont eu leur temps apres 40 ans de parle parle jaze jaze temps a passer a l action se qui fache l Europe the US leur a pas demandé permission et d une manier poli la maison told them to go f uck themself d une maniere plus politiquement correct!

    Répondre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais